أنشطة البحث

نظرة عامة على المشاريع البحثية الحالية والسابقة التي تمت تغطيتها كجزء من شبكة أبحاث الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا حول الشيخوخة الصحية (المنارة).

COVID19 ورفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط

دور الأنشطة البدنية واستخدام التكنولوجيا في تعزيز رفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط أثناء جائحة كوفيد 19: دراسة تجريبية.

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى الاستفادة من استخدام الهواتف الذكية والتطبيقات لتوفير منصة فريدة من نوعها في الوقت المناسب للمعلومات والنصائح والخدمات المخصصة لضمان صحة كبار السن ورفاههم من خلال الأنشطة التالية التي سيتم جمعها معًا على منصة عبر الإنترنت.

COVID-19 ، التباعد الاجتماعي والإغلاق: الانعكاسات على كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East, Presentations, Research Activities, Resources In February 2021, Professor Shereen Hussein presented findings from the MENARAH’s research on the implications of COVID-19 restrictions and the wellbeing of older people in the MENA region in a symposium organised by the International Network for the Study of Arab Societies: أكمل القراءة السلسلة 2 من "الحركة نعمة": 5 مقاطع فيديو المدونات ، COVID19 ورفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط ، الأنشطة البحثية ، مقاطع الفيديو بين أكتوبر 2020 ومارس 2021 ، حصلت الأستاذة شيرين حسين على تمويل QR GCRF لمواصلة نجاح حركة MENARAH وهي سلسلة نعمة تهدف إلى تحسين مستوى الأنشطة البدنية لكبار السن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا بشكل خاص. أكمل القراءة COVID-19 في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا المدونات و COVID19 ورفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط خلال أبريل 2020 ، عانت العديد من الدول في أوروبا من الموجة الأولى من الإصابات مع تسجيل Covid-19 وأعداد متزايدة من الإصابات والوفيات. من ناحية أخرى ، أبلغت منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا عن أعداد صغيرة لكل من عدوى Covid-19 و أكمل القراءة حلول التطبيب عن بعد لكبار السن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا المدونات ، COVID19 ورفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط ، الأنشطة البحثية ، الموارد فريق المشروع: الأستاذة شيرين حسين ، والدكتور محمد سلامة ، جلال أبو الدهب تعتبر مصر الدولة العربية الأكثر اكتظاظًا بالسكان بمعدل نمو يبلغ 2.21 طنًا واحدًا سنويًا ، ومن المتوقع أن يصل عدد السكان إلى 151 مليون بحلول عام 2050 (كوليرز 2017). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تتخلف مصر في الكمية أكمل القراءة صحة المسنين ، صفحة فيسبوك لكبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية لهم في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا المدونات ، COVID19 ورفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط ، الأنشطة البحثية ، الموارد في عام 2020 ، حصلت البروفيسورة شيرين حسين على تمويل من خلال جامعة كنت ، صندوق الاستجابة للطوارئ التابع لمركز جنيف العالمي للحد من الكوارث ، لاستخدام منصات التواصل الاجتماعي لزيادة الوعي بالشيخوخة الصحية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا خلال جائحة COVID19. كجزء من هذا أكمل القراءة الحركة هي نعمة - أشرطة فيديو تعليمية تدريبية لكبار السن المدونات ، COVID19 ورفاهية كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط ، موارد ، مقاطع فيديو تهدف سلسلة الفيديو هذه إلى زيادة الوعي بأهمية الأنشطة البدنية لكبار السن ، خاصة خلال هذه الأوقات مع انتشار جائحة COVID19 وحقيقة أن معظم كبار السن يقيمون في المنزل أكثر من المعتاد. الأنشطة البدنية الأساسية أكمل القراءة

حشد البحوث حول الشيخوخة الصحية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

في عام 2020 ، أجرت الأستاذة شيرين حسين مقابلات مع أصحاب المصلحة في الشرق الأوسط بهدف فهم التحديات المرتبطة بشيخوخة السكان. حدد الباحثون الدوليون والإقليميون العديد من الفجوات في المعرفة حول تجربة كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية لهم في المنطقة. وسلطوا الضوء على أهمية إجراء البحوث التي تتناول الشيخوخة الصحية بأوسع معانيها وعدم إغفال الصحة النفسية لكبار السن ورفاههم. هناك نقص في البحث المخصص لفهم عبء الرعاية غير الرسمية ، لا سيما في السياق الثقافي للمنطقة حيث يتضح عدم المساواة بين الجنسين وعدم وجود آلية دعم رسمية.

روايات الشيخوخة والعناية: أصوات من الشرق الأوسط المدونات ، تعبئة البحوث حول الشيخوخة الصحية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، الأنشطة البحثية ، مقاطع الفيديو تشهد منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا تغيرًا ديموغرافيًا سريعًا ، بما في ذلك شيخوخة السكان. لكي تتمكن البلدان من خلق بيئة مناسبة وفرص للمسنين وأسرهم ، هناك حاجة إلى التفاصيل أكمل القراءة التعامل مع الباحثين الوطنيين والدوليين مدونات ، تعبئة البحوث حول الشيخوخة الصحية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، مقاطع فيديو من أجل صياغة السياسات واتخاذ القرارات بشكل فعال ، من الضروري فهم الفجوات المعرفية والفرص المحتملة. في عام 2020 ، أجرت الأستاذة شيرين حسين عددًا من المقابلات مع باحثين دوليين وإقليميين رئيسيين لاستكشاف القضايا المرتبطة بشيخوخة السكان أكمل القراءة

التعلم من الخبرة الدولية

تشهد منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا شيخوخة السكان بمعدل غير مسبوق. هناك حاجة إلى تطوير ديناميكيات البنية التحتية والسياسات بوتيرة سريعة نسبيًا لتلبية الاحتياجات الاجتماعية والصحية والاقتصادية المتزايدة لكبار السن وأسرهم. هناك معرفة وخبرة كبيرة يمكن تعلمها من البلدان الأخرى التي عانت من شيخوخة السكان في مراحل مبكرة. هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص في البلدان التي تشترك في سياق مشابه يحيط بأهمية دعم الأسرة والأجيال كمكون رئيسي في نماذج رعاية المسنين الرسمية الخاصة بهم. من خلال منحة شراكة ، تمكنت الأستاذة شيرين حسين من إجراء عدد من أنشطة تعبئة المعرفة مع مجموعات بحثية في إيطاليا. استمع إلى بعض المقابلات مع باحثين رئيسيين في المجلس الوطني الإيطالي للبحوث ، روما ومركز البحوث الاجتماعية والاقتصادية حول الشيخوخة ، أنكونا ، إيطاليا.

تحديات وفرص شيخوخة السكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا التعلم من التجربة الدولية والعروض التقديمية ومقاطع الفيديو في حدث تبادل المعرفة هذا ، قدم البروفيسور حسين تحليلاً للتغيرات الديموغرافية في المنطقة وما يرتبط بها من تحديات سياسية. إبراز الحاجة إلى تطوير استجابة سياسية تستفيد من المعايير الاجتماعية والثقافية في المنطقة. ال أكمل القراءة أهمية البيانات ومؤشرات وأنظمة الجودة: رسائل إلى منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا عند وضع سياسات الرعاية طويلة الأجل مدونات ، التعلم من التجربة الدولية ، مقاطع الفيديو كجزء من عمل شراكة GCRF ، أجرت البروفيسور شيرين حسين سلسلة من المقابلات مع باحثين في المجلس القومي للبحوث ، معهد أبحاث السكان والسياسات الاجتماعية في روما بإيطاليا. التحدث إلى دانييلا لوزي وفابريزيو بيكورارو و أكمل القراءة التعلم من التجربة الإيطالية: الاجتماع في INRCA-IRCCS مدونات ، التعلم من التجربة الدولية ، مقاطع الفيديو في فبراير 2020 ، تمت دعوة الأستاذة شيرين حسين من قبل INRCA-IRCCS (المعهد الوطني للصحة والعلوم حول الشيخوخة) - مركز البحوث الاجتماعية والاقتصادية حول الشيخوخة (أنكونا ، إيطاليا) لمناقشة شيخوخة السكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. بعد عرض تقديمي يشرح أكمل القراءة

أولويات الرعاية المتعلقة بالشيخوخة وطويلة الأمد في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

غالبًا ما يتم تجاهل معالجة شيخوخة السكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، رغم أهميتها الكبيرة ، بسبب ضغوط أخرى ، بما في ذلك الفقر وبطالة الشباب. في عام 2019 ، الأستاذة شيرين حسين، حصل على تمويل من صندوق شراكة GCRF التابع لجامعة كنت لإجراء أنشطة استشارية وشراكة مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء فيما يتعلق بأجندة أبحاث شيخوخة السكان.

تضمنت الأنشطة حضورًا جيدًا لورشة عمل إقليمية لمدة يومين في أبريل 2019 بالإضافة إلى العديد من فعاليات المشاركة والاتصالات مع الشركاء الدوليين. جاء هذا العمل في الوقت المناسب لأنه تزامن مع تطوير استراتيجية الدول العربية للشيخوخة وسهّل الوصول إلى مجموعة واسعة من الباحثين وصناع السياسات والمنظمات غير الحكومية المهتمين.

بناء القدرات في مجال أبحاث الشيخوخة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا المدونات ، تحديد أولويات أبحاث الشيخوخة والسياسة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا في يوليو 2019 ، زارت الأستاذة شيرين حسين معهد الأمم المتحدة للشيخوخة INIA لمناقشة الآثار المترتبة على شيخوخة السكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وفهم التعاون المحتمل لبناء القدرات البحثية والممارسة ذات الصلة في المنطقة. دكتور جامعى أكمل القراءة ورشة العمل الإقليمية حول الشيخوخة ، القاهرة ، أبريل 2019 المدونات ، تحديد أولويات أبحاث الشيخوخة والسياسة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا بالتعاون مع مركز البحوث الاجتماعية بالجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة ، نظمت الأستاذة شيرين حسين ورشة عمل حول شيخوخة السكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء. تم تصميم ورشة العمل لتبادل البحوث القائمة على الأدلة حول الشيخوخة بمساهمة من أكمل القراءة

شركاء البحث

دخلت المنارة في شراكة مع مجموعات مختلفة ومشاريع بحثية مهتمة بالموضوعات ذات الصلة المتعلقة بالشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. اقرأ المزيد عن شركائنا.

TEC-MED: تطوير نموذج للرعاية الاجتماعية والأخلاقية عبر الثقافات للسكان المعالين في حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط المدونات ، شركاء البحث تظهر دول البحر الأبيض المتوسط اتجاهات مشتركة من حيث انخفاض الدعم الاجتماعي والحاجة إلى نماذج رعاية اجتماعية وأخلاقية مبتكرة ومستدامة. هذه القضايا لها تأثير على العديد من الفئات الضعيفة ، مثل كبار السن المعالين المصابين بأمراض مزمنة و أكمل القراءة منصة تعلم أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) في إقليم شرق المتوسط (EMR) المدونات ، شركاء البحث تعد كل من شبكة MENARAH ومنصة التعلم EMR-SDGs مبادرتان تعملان على توحيد الجهود للاستفادة من قوة بعضهما البعض ، وتوسيع محتوى مساهمات كل منهما ، فضلاً عن الوصول إلى جمهور أوسع. منصة التعلم EMR-SDGs هي أكمل القراءة كيف حالك خلال COVID-19؟ مسح عالمي المدونات ، شركاء البحث يُجري معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية (I-GHE) في الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة (AUC) جنبًا إلى جنب مع باحثين من الولايات المتحدة وكندا وأيرلندا ونيوزيلندا والمملكة المتحدة والنرويج وهولندا مسحًا عالميًا حول كيفية إجراء الأشخاص. هي أكمل القراءة

RESEARCH ACTIVITIES

An overview of current and previous research projects covered as part of the Middle East and North Africa Research on Healthy Ageing (MENARAH) Network.

COVID19 AND THE WELLBEING OF OLDER PEOPLE IN THE MIDDLE EAST

The role of physical activities and the use of technology to enhance older people’s wellbeing in the Middle East during COVID19 Pandemic: A pilot study.

This project aims to capitalise on the use of smartphones and apps to provide a timely and unique platform for information, advice and service dedicated to ensuring the health and wellbeing of older people through the following activities that will be brought together under on online platform.

COVID-19, Social Distancing and Lockdown: Implications on Older People in the Middle East & North Africa COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East, Presentations, Research Activities, Resources In February 2021, Professor Shereen Hussein presented findings from the MENARAH’s research on the implications of COVID-19 restrictions and the wellbeing of older people in the MENA region in a symposium organised by the International Network for the Study of Arab Societies: Continue Reading Series 2 of ‘Movement is a Blessing’: 5 videos Blogs, COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East, Research Activities, Videos Between October 2020 and March 2021, Professor Shereen Hussein secured QR GCRF funding to continue the success of MENARAH’s Movement is a Blessing series aimed at improving the level of physical activities of older people in the MENA region especially Continue Reading COVID-19 in the Middle East and North Africa Region Blogs, COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East During April 2020, many countries in Europe suffered its first wave of infections with Covid-19 recording and increasingly high numbers of infections and deaths. The MENA region, on the other hand, had reported small numbers both for Covid-19 infections and Continue Reading Telemedicine solutions for older people in the MENA region Blogs, COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East, Research Activities, Resources Project team: Professor Shereen Hussein, Dr Mohamed Salama, Galal Abu El-Dahab Egypt is considered the most populated Arab country with a 2.2% growth rate per year, with the population expected to be 151 million by 2050 (Colliers 2017). Additionally, Egypt falls behind in the quantity Continue Reading Our Elder's Health, a Facebook page for older people and their carers in the MENA region Blogs, COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East, Research Activities, Resources In 2020, Professor Shereen Hussein secured funding through the University of Kent, GCRF Emergency Response Fund, to utilise social media platforms to raise awareness of healthy ageing in the Middle East and North Africa during COVID19 pandemic.  As part of this Continue Reading Movement is a blessing- training instruction videos for older people Blogs, COVID19 and the Wellbeing of Older People in the Middle East, Resources, Videos This video series aims to increase awareness of the importance of physical activities for older people especially during these times with COVID19 pandemic and the fact that most older people are staying at home more than usual. Basic physical activities Continue Reading

MOBILISING RESEARCH ON HEALTHY AGEING IN THE MENA REGION

In 2020, Professor Shereen Hussein conducted interviews with stakeholders in the Middle East with the aim of understanding the challenges associated with population ageing. International and regional researchers identified several gaps in the knowledge about the experience of older people and their carers in the region. They highlighted the importance of conducting research that addresses healthy ageing in its broadest meaning and not to overlook older people’s psychological health and wellbeing. There is a lack of research that is specific to understand the burden of informal care, especially within the cultural context of the region where gender inequalities and lack of formal support mechanism is evident.

Narratives of ageing and caring: Voices from the Middle East Blogs, Mobilising Research on Healthy Ageing in the MENA Region, Research Activities, Videos The Middle East and North Africa region is experiencing a fast demographic change, including population ageing. For countries to be able to create a suitable environment and opportunities for older people and their families, there is a need for detailed Continue Reading Engaging with national and international researchers Blogs, Mobilising Research on Healthy Ageing in the MENA Region, Videos For an effective policy formulation and decision-making it is crucial to understand knowledge gaps and potential opportunities. In 2020, Professor Shereen Hussein conducted a number of interviews with key international and regional researchers to explore issues associated with population ageing Continue Reading

LEARNING FROM THE INTERNATIONAL EXPERIENCE

The Middle East and North Africa region is experiencing population ageing at an unprecedented rate. The infrastructure and policy dynamics are in need to develop at a relatively fast pace to meet the growing social, health and economic needs of older people and their families. There are considerable knowledge and experience that could be learnt from other countries that have experienced population ageing at much earlier stages. This is particularly the case in countries that share similar context surrounding the importance of family and intergenerational support as a key component within their formal aged-care models. Through a partnership grant, Professor Shereen Hussein was able to conduct a number of knowledge mobilisation activities with research groups in Italy. Listen to some of the interviews with key researchers at the Italian National Research Council, Rome and the Centre for Social and Economic Research on Ageing, Ancona, Italy.

The Challenges and Opportunities of Population Ageing in the MENA Region Learning from the International Experience, Presentations, Videos In this knowledge-exchange event, Professor Hussein provided an analysis of the changing demographics in the region and associated policy challenges. Highlighting the need to develop a policy response that capitalises on the social and cultural norms within the region. The Continue Reading The importance of data, quality indicators and systems: Messages to the MENA region when setting long-term care policies Blogs, Learning from the International Experience, Videos As part of the GCRF partnership work, Professor Shereen Hussein held a series of interviews with researchers at the National Research Council, Institute for Research on Population and Social Policies in Rome Italy. Talking to Daniela Luzi, Fabrizio Pecoraro and Continue Reading Learning from the Italian experience: Meeting at INRCA-IRCCS Blogs, Learning from the International Experience, Videos In February 2020, Professor Shereen Hussein was invited by INRCA-IRCCS (National Institute of Health and Science on Ageing) - Centre for Socio-Economic Research on Ageing, (Ancona, Italy) to discuss population ageing in the MENA region. Following a presentation explaining the Continue Reading

AGEING AND LONG TERM CARE PRIORITIES IN THE MENA REGION

Addressing population ageing, while considerably important, is often neglected in the MENA region due to other pressures including poverty and youth unemployment. In 2019, Professor Shereen Hussein, received funding from the University of Kent GCRF Partnership Fund to conduct consultative and partnership activities with key stakeholders in the Middle East and Sub-Saharan Africa in relation to population ageing research agenda.

The activities included a well attended a two-days regional workshopin April 2019 as well as several engagement events and communications with international partners. This work has been timely as it coincided with the development of the Arab States strategy on ageing and facilitated access to a broad range of interested researchers, policymakers and non-governmental organisations.

Building Capacity on Ageing Research in the MENA region Blogs, Setting Ageing Research and Policy Priorities in the MENA region In July 2019, Professor Shereen Hussein visited the United Nations' Institute on Ageing INIA to discuss implications of population ageing in the Middle East and North Africa region and understand potential collaboration to build relevant research and practice capacity in the region.  Professor Continue Reading Regional Workshop on Ageing, Cairo, April 2019 Blogs, Setting Ageing Research and Policy Priorities in the MENA region In collaboration with the Social Research Center, American University in Cairo, Professor Shereen Hussein organised a workshop on Population Aging in the Middle East and Sub-Saharan Africa. The workshop was designed to share evidence-based research on ageing with contribution from the Continue Reading

Research Partners

MENARAH has partnered with different groups and research projects who are interested in relevant topics related to ageing and long term care in the Middle East and North Africa region. Read more about our partners.

TEC-MED: Development of a transcultural ethical-social care model for the dependent population in the Mediterranean basin Blogs, Research Partners Mediterranean countries are showing common trends in terms of social support decrease and the need for innovative and sustainable socio-ethical-care models. These issues have an impact on many categories of vulnerable people, such as dependent elderly having chronic diseases and Continue Reading The Eastern Mediterranean Region (EMR) Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Learning Platform Blogs, Research Partners Both the MENARAH network and the EMR-SDGs Learning Platform are two initiatives that are joining forces to capitalize on each other strength, expand the content of their respective contributions, as well as reach a wider audience.  The EMR-SDGs Learning Platform is Continue Reading How are you coping during COVID-19? A global survey Blogs, Research Partners The Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology (I-GHHE) at the American University in Cairo (AUC) along with researchers from the US, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, UK, Norway and the Netherlands are undertaking a global survey on how people are Continue Reading