COVID19 والقوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل في إنجلترا

0
60
الآراء

خلق جائحة COVID-19 تحديات كبيرة للقوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل في المملكة المتحدة (LTC). في هذا المنشور الجديد ، استنادًا إلى RESSCW في الدراسة ، ندرس تأثير COVID-19 على ظروف عمل العاملين في مجال الرعاية الاجتماعية ، والصحة العامة والرفاهية ، والنوايا لترك صاحب العمل والقطاع تمامًا. 

أدى الحجم المتزايد للمهام أثناء الوباء إلى زيادة أعباء العمل بين الموظفين الحاليين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أدى الافتقار إلى معدات الوقاية الشخصية الكافية ، ونقص الموظفين الذي تفاقم بسبب الغياب المرتبط بالمرض ، والقوى العاملة التي تضم نسبة عالية من العمال ذوي الأجور المنخفضة والمحفوفة بالمخاطر ، إلى خلق "عاصفة مثالية" لظروف العمل المعاكسة. شهدت الموجة الأولى من الوباء انخفاضًا واضحًا في صحة العاملين في مجال الرعاية ورفاههم وسلطت الضوء على مخاوف بشأن سوء معاملة القوى العاملة في شكل إساءة معاملة وعنف في مكان العمل.

يعتمد التحليل على الردود الكمية والنوعية لـ 1037 إجابة صالحة تم تلقيها بين أبريل ويونيو 2021. صمم فريق RESSCW الاستطلاع بالتشاور مع المجموعة التوجيهية وممول المشروع (مؤسسة الصحة). تم بناء تصميم المسح الطولي من خلال النتائج من 'مسح النبضأجريت في صيف 2020 ، تلتها مقابلات نوعية مع أصحاب المصلحة كجزء من نفس الدراسة. تضمن الاستطلاع أسئلة متعددة الخيارات مع خيارات نصية مجانية ومسجلة مسبقًا للحصول على أفضل وجهات نظر العمال وخصائصهم. غطت الأسئلة المعلومات الديموغرافية الأساسية ، وظروف العمل ، والدعم ، والصحة العامة ، والرفاهية ، ونية ترك صاحب العمل أو القطاع ، والخبرة خلال COVID-19 ، مثل سوء المعاملة وسوء المعاملة ، والمواضيع الخاصة بـ COVID-19 (بما في ذلك التطعيم ، وإصابة الموظفين. والعملاء والعزلة). 

وجدت دراستنا أن ربع المستجيبين تعرضوا لشكل من أشكال سوء المعاملة فيما يتعلق بالوباء. بالنظر إلى العلاقة بين التعرض لسوء المعاملة والرفاهية ، تظهر النتائج أنه بغض النظر عن المقياس المستخدم (أي التوازن بين العمل والحياة ؛ مؤشرات سوء المعاملة المختلفة) ، فإن الإساءة تؤثر سلبًا على رفاهية العمال. الإساءة الشديدة (أي أنواع متعددة) لها تأثير سلبي أكثر سلبية على الرفاهية. عند التركيز على تأثير كل نوع من أنواع الإساءة ، بينما تظل العلاقة سلبية وذات مغزى قوي لجميع الأنواع باستثناء التهديد ، تختلف محنة التأثير باختلاف مقياس الرفاهية المستخدم. على وجه التحديد ، يؤثر التنمر بشكل أكبر على مقياس الرفاهية بالوكالة ، بينما يؤثر العنف الجسدي على التوازن بين العمل والحياة.

تؤكد التجارب السلبية لسوء المعاملة التي تم تحديدها في هذه الدراسة على أهمية النظر في الآثار الأوسع على صحة العمال ورفاههم ، والمنظمة والقطاع. على سبيل المثال ، أظهرت نتائجنا ارتباطًا سلبيًا بين الإساءة والتوازن بين العمل والحياة بغض النظر عن نوع الإساءة. تمشيا مع دراسات مماثلة ، وجدنا أن العديد من العاملين في LTC شعروا في كثير من الأحيان بالتوتر وعدم الارتياح والاكتئاب والكآبة بسبب عملهم ، مع مزيد من الآثار على صحتهم العامة والتوازن بين العمل والحياة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تبين أن نية العمال في ترك القطاع هي حوالي نصف هذا العدد الذي ترك صاحب العمل الحالي طواعية في العام المقبل. يوضح اتجاه هذه النتائج الدوافع القوية للقوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية للانضمام إلى القطاع والأمل في أن يؤدي تغيير صاحب العمل إلى ظروف عمل أفضل. على الرغم من كل التجارب الصعبة التي تمت مواجهتها قبل وأثناء الوباء ، تظل القوى العاملة ملتزمة بشدة بهذا القطاع.

في عصر التحديات المستمرة ، بما في ذلك التقشف ونظام الهجرة الجديد بعد خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي والتغييرات في الممارسات للسماح بنموذج عمل أكثر مرونة في أعقاب جائحة COVID-19 العالمي ، هناك دعوة للتدخلات المستهدفة للتركيز على المزيد من الوظائف الداعمة من شأنها تحسين رفاهية العمال في العمل. لا يتعلق الأمر فقط بالحفاظ على معايير مناسبة وبناء علاقات مع القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية ولكن أيضًا التأكيد على جميع جوانب الرفاهية - الجسدية والعقلية والمالية - التي يمكن أن تمهد الطريق إلى الأمام.

تسلط هذه الدراسة الضوء على قضايا ذات أهمية سياسية كبيرة. الأول هو الاعتراف بآثار COVID-19 ، بما في ذلك المستويات المتزايدة من سوء المعاملة وسوء المعاملة ، على رفاهية عمال LTC وضمان التدخلات المناسبة للتخفيف منها. هذا وثيق الصلة بالسياسة لضمان قوة عاملة مستدامة. ومع ذلك ، فإن تقرير تحقيق حكومي حديث قد قيم استجابة الحكومة لرفاهية القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية على أنها غير كافية. وسلط الضوء على التجارب المتباينة عبر مجموعات مختلفة من العمال وبين الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في انكلترا. انعكس هذا النقص في الاعتراف بتأثير COVID-19 على القوى العاملة LTC في المملكة المتحدة في الحد الأدنى من تدابير الدعم أثناء الوباء مقارنة بالدول الأخرى مثل استراليا وكندا. الأثر الثاني للسياسة هو الارتباط بين التعرض لسوء المعاملة وسوء المعاملة وبين النية في الإقلاع عن التدخين. مع التحديات الحالية لتوظيف القوى العاملة ومعدلات الدوران المرتفعة ، من الأهمية بمكان تنفيذ تدخلات تهدف إلى الحد من حوادث التنمر وسوء المعاملة لتقليل نزيف المواهب وإهدار التدريب والمهارات.

الاقتباس: Saloniki ، E.-C. ؛ Turnpenny ، أ. كولينز ، جي ؛ مارشاند ، سي. الأبراج ، A.-M. ؛ حسين، S. إساءة معاملة العاملين في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل ورفاههم في عصر COVID-19: دليل من المملكة المتحدة. الاستدامة2022,14، 9620. https://doi.org/10.3390 / su14159620

الاستدامة - 14-09620

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

COVID19 and the Long-Term Care Workforce in England

0
61
views

The COVID-19 pandemic created significant challenges for the UK’s long-term care (LTC) workforce. In this new publication, based on the RESSCW study, we examine the impact of COVID-19 on social care workers’ working conditions, general health and wellbeing, and intentions to leave the employer and sector altogether. 

The increased volume of tasks during the pandemic resulted in higher workloads among existing staff. In addition, lack of adequate PPE, staff shortages exacerbated by sickness-related absences, and a workforce with a high proportion of low-paid and precarious workers created a ‘perfect storm’ for adverse working conditions. The first wave of the pandemic saw an apparent decline in care workers’ health and wellbeing and brought to light concerns about mistreatment of the workforce in the form of workplace abuse and violence.

The analysis is based on both quantitative and qualitative responses of 1037 valid responses received between April and June 2021. The RESSCW team designed the survey in consultation with the steering group and the funder of the project (The Health Foundation). The longitudinal survey design was informed by the findings from an earlier ‘pulse survey’ conducted in the summer of 2020, followed by qualitative interviews with stakeholders as part of the same study. The survey included multiple-choice questions with pre-recorded and free text options to best capture the workers’ views and characteristics. The questions covered basic demographic information, working conditions, support, general health, wellbeing, intention to leave employer or sector, experience during COVID-19, such as mistreatment and abuse, and COVID-19-specific topics (including vaccination, infection of staff and clients, and isolation). 

Our study found that a quarter of respondents experienced some form of abuse in relation to the pandemic. Looking at the relationship between experiencing abuse and wellbeing, the findings show that, irrespective of the measure used (i.e., proxy or work-life balance; different abuse indicators), abuse negatively impacts workers’ wellbeing. More severe (i.e., multiple types) abuse has a more adverse negative effect on wellbeing. When focusing on the impact of each abuse type, while the relationship remains negative and strongly significant for all types except for threat, the adversity of the effect differs by the wellbeing measure used. Specifically, bullying impacts the most on the proxy wellbeing measure, whereas physical violence affects work-life balance.

The negative experiences of abuse identified in this study stress the importance of considering the broader implications for workers’ health and wellbeing, the organisation and the sector. For instance, our results showed a negative association between abuse and work-life balance irrespective of abuse type. Consistent with similar studies, we found that many LTC workers frequently felt tense, uneasy, depressed and gloomy because of their job, with further implications on their general health and work-life balance. In addition, workers’ intention to quit the sector was found to be about half of that quitting the current employer voluntarily in the next year. The direction of these findings showcases the strong motivations of the care workforce for joining the sector and the hope that a change of employer will result in better working conditions. Despite all the challenging experiences faced before and during the pandemic, the workforce remains highly committed to the sector.

In an era of continued challenges, including austerity, a new post-Brexit immigration system and changes in practices to allow for a more flexible work model following the global COVID-19 pandemic, there is a call for targeted interventions to focus on more supportive jobs that will improve workers’ wellbeing at work. It is not just about maintaining adequate standards and building relationships with the care workforce but also emphasising all aspects of wellbeing—physical, mental and financial—that can pave the way forward.

This study highlights issues of considerable policy importance. The first is acknowledging the implications of COVID-19, including the increased levels of abuse and mistreatment, on the LTC workers’ wellbeing and ensuring adequate interventions to mitigate them in place. This is of high policy relevance to ensure a sustainable workforce. However, a recent government inquiry report assessed the government’s response to the health and social care workforce wellbeing as inadequate. It highlighted the differentiated experiences across different groups of workers and between health and social care settings in England. This lack of recognition of the impact of COVID-19 on the LTC workforce in the UK was reflected in minimal support measures during the pandemic compared to other countries such as Australia and Canada. The second policy implication is the linkage between the exposure to mistreatment and abuse and the intention to quit. With current workforce recruitment challenges and high turnover rates, it is crucial to implement interventions aimed at reducing incidences of bullying and abuse to minimise the haemorrhage of talents and wasted training and skills.

Citation: Saloniki, E.-C.; Turnpenny, A.; Collins, G.; Marchand, C.; Towers, A.-M.; Hussein, S. Abuse and Wellbeing of Long-Term Care Workers in the COVID-19 Era: Evidence from the UK. Sustainability2022,14,9620. https://doi.org/ 10.3390/su14159620

sustainability-14-09620

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and its impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.