روايات الشيخوخة والعناية: أصوات من الشرق الأوسط

0
203
الآراء

تشهد منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا تغيرًا ديموغرافيًا سريعًا ، بما في ذلك شيخوخة السكان. لكي تكون البلدان قادرة على خلق بيئة مناسبة وفرص لكبار السن وأسرهم ، هناك حاجة إلى بحث وبيانات مفصلة. والأهم من ذلك ، أن أصوات كبار السن أنفسهم ومقدمي الرعاية غير الرسميين ، التي غالبًا ما تكون مفقودة ، تحتاج إلى الاستماع إليها والنظر فيها. كجزء من أنشطة المشاركة في MENARAH ، أجرت الأستاذة شيرين حسين عدة مقابلات بالفيديو مع كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية غير الرسميين في القاهرة في عام 2020. في هذه المدونة ، نقدم بعض دراسات الحالة لتسليط الضوء على بعض التطلعات والمخاوف والتحديات التي يواجهها كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية غير الرسميين في المنطقة.

حياة سيدة تبلغ من العمر 80 عامًا تعيش بمفردها في شقتها في وسط القاهرة. عملت مديرة مدرسة قبل التقاعد وترملت قبل ذلك بسنوات. لديها طفلان ، أحدهما يعيش في الخارج والآخر يعيش في القاهرة ولكنه بعيد عنها. تسلط حياة الضوء على أهمية المجتمع الأوسع ورأس المال الاجتماعي الذي بنته خلال حياتها العملية مع تقدم العمر. وهي تأمل في الحصول على فرص مصممة خصيصًا لكبار السن للمشاركة الفكرية والحفاظ على الاهتمام بالإضافة إلى الاستفادة من تجربتها. تتحدث أيضًا عن أهمية التبادل بين الأجيال وقيمته لكل من الأجيال الأكبر سناً والشباب.

يعد الدعم بين الأجيال أمرًا بالغ الأهمية بشكل خاص في منطقة تشهد نموًا سريعًا وحادًا في وقت واحد للفئات العمرية الأكبر سنًا مع ملاحظة "تضخم الشباب" مع مجموعات كبيرة من مجموعة الشباب البالغين. تخلق هذه التحديات الديموغرافية أيضًا فرصًا ، خاصة في المجتمعات التي يكون فيها التبادل بين الأجيال جزءًا من نسيج حياتها ، كما أوضحت حياة. 

غادة هي أم لثلاثة شباب ، ولد أحدهما مصابًا بالشلل الدماغي الذي يتطلب رعاية ودعمًا على مدار الساعة. كانت تعيش مع أسرتها في حي بعيد عن شقة والدتها الأرملة. قبل عدة سنوات ، كانت والدتها بحاجة إلى مزيد من الرعاية والدعم ، وقررت غادة وعائلتها الانتقال إلى شقة بجوار أمها لتتمكن من إعالة أسرتها وإعالة أسرتها. تتحدث غادة عن عدم وجود دعم لمقدمي الرعاية الأسرية سواء من حيث المعلومات والتدريب وكذلك الدعم العملي مثل الرعاية المؤقتة. كما تسلط الضوء على الأعراف الثقافية حول الوصمة المرتبطة بأنواع معينة من أحكام الرعاية والأعباء المختلفة التي يُتوقع أن تتعامل معها.

تظل رعاية كبار السن مسألة عائلية في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، وخاصة بالنسبة للشابات في الأسرة. وبالتالي ، فإن دعم وحدة الأسرة بأكملها وخلق طرق لتسهيل التبادل بين الأجيال وتعزيز مساهمة المرأة في سوق العمل والمجتمع الأوسع له عوائد اقتصادية ومجتمعية إيجابية وملموسة.

نادية أرملة 78 تعيش وحدها. لديها ثلاثة أطفال بالغين ، اثنان يعيشان في الخارج. تسلط نادية الضوء على أهمية المنظمات المجتمعية في خلق فرص لكبار السن للتواصل الاجتماعي ، بما في ذلك الذهاب في رحلات. تؤكد على أهمية التكنولوجيا وكيف أن ذلك يجعلها منخرطة مع أحفادها ، وإن كان ذلك عن بُعد.

ومع ذلك ، توضح نادية أن هناك فرصًا محلية محدودة لكبار السن للتفاعل معها ودعت إلى إنشاء نوادٍ وحدائق جيدة التصميم ليستخدمها كبار السن. كما تتحدث أيضًا عن كيفية عدم تصميم وسائل النقل والبنية التحتية والبيئة المادية - بما في ذلك تخطيط الشوارع والأرصفة - مع مراعاة كبار السن. تعيق البنية التحتية غير الملائمة الفرصة لكبار السن للذهاب في نزهات منتظمة للحفاظ على صحتهم البدنية.

تغيرت حياة رانيا وشقيقاتها ، وجميعهن مهندسات ، في محاولة لرعاية والديهن بشكل صحيح. لقد واجهوا تحديات خاصة لدعم والدتهم ، التي طورت بعض مشاكل التنقل. تتحدث رانيا عن الصعوبات متعددة الطبقات التي يواجهونها على أساس يومي من المعاناة المالية إلى المعاناة العاطفية. تسلط الضوء على أن البيئة والبنية التحتية ليست مناسبة للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات الجسدية ، مما يجعل الخروج لمستخدم الكرسي المتحرك شبه مستحيل. كما تناقش رانيا عدم وجود فرص لكبار السن للمشاركة في مختلف الأنشطة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وهي تقدم مثال والدها ، الذي يمتلك قدرات كبيرة ولكنه غير قادر على الاستفادة منها.

يعود كبار السن أنفسهم بفوائد جمة على الأسرة والمجتمع. تظهر الأدلة من مناطق أخرى أن كبار السن يلعبون أدوارًا أساسية في دعم الأجيال الشابة. من المساعدة المالية إلى الدعم العيني من خلال توفير رعاية الأطفال التي تشتد الحاجة إليها أو الإقامة بالإضافة إلى الدعم العاطفي اللامتناهي. كما يقدر كبار السن الخبرة المهنية والشخصية ؛ وبالتالي ، فإن خلق فرص لكبار السن للمشاركة خارج نطاق الأسرة من شأنه أن يجلب قيمة مضافة للمجتمع بأسره.

تؤكد شبكة المنارة على أهمية الشيخوخة الصحية بأوسع معانيها لتشمل الجوانب الجسدية والنفسية والاجتماعية. ويتمثل جزء أساسي من هذا في خلق فرص يسهل الوصول إليها لكبار السن ، من مختلف مناحي الحياة ، للمشاركة بفعالية في أنشطة اقتصادية واجتماعية أكثر شمولاً. يجب أن تعترف مثل هذه الفرص ، وتحاول مواجهة تأثير ، المساوئ المتراكمة على مدى حياة مجموعات مختلفة من الناس.

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

الأستاذة شيرين حسين أستاذة سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين أبحاثًا مكثفة حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، وعلى الصعيد الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء مباشرة إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Narratives of ageing and caring: Voices from the Middle East

0
500
views

The Middle East and North Africa region is experiencing a fast demographic change, including population ageing. For countries to be able to create a suitable environment and opportunities for older people and their families, there is a need for detailed research and data. More importantly, the voices of older people themselves and their informal carers, which are often missing, need to be heard and considered. As part of the MENARAH engagement activities, Professor Shereen Hussein conducted several video interviews with older people and informal carers in Cairo in 2020. In this blog, we present a few case studies to highlight some of the aspiration, concerns and challenges faced by older people and informal carers in the region.

Hayat is an 80 years old lady who lives alone in her flat in centre Cairo. She worked as a headteacher before retirement and was widowed years before then. She has two grown-up children, one lives abroad, and one lives in Cairo but further away from her. Hayat highlights the importance of the wider community and the social capital she built during her working life as she ages. She hopes for opportunities tailored for older people to intellectually engage with and maintain interest as well as to capitalise on her experience. She also talks about the importance of intergenerational exchange and its value to both older and younger generations.

Intergenerational support is particularly crucial in a region experiencing a simultaneous fast and steep growth of older age groups while observing a ‘youth bulge’ with large cohorts of the young adult group. These demographic challenges also create opportunities, especially in societies where the intergenerational exchange is part of its life fabric, as explained by Hayat. 

Ghada is a mother of three young adults, one of the twins was born with cerebral palsy which requires round the clock care and support. She used to live with her family in a district further away from her widowed mother’s apartment. Several years ago, her mother needed more care and support and Ghada and her family decided to move in a flat next to her mum’s to be able to support her as well as her own family. Ghada speaks about the lack of support to family carers both in terms of information and training as well as practical support like respite care. She also highlights the cultural norms around stigma associated with certain types of care provisions and the various burdens she is expected to juggle.

Caring for older people remains a family matter across the region, particularly for younger women in the family. Thus, supporting the whole family unit and creating ways to facilitate intergenerational exchange and promote women’s contribution to the labour market and the wider society have positive and tangible economic and societal returns.

Nadia is a 78 widow who lives alone; she has three grown-up children, two live abroad. Nadia highlights the importance of community organisations in creating opportunities for older people to socialise, including going on trips. She emphasises the importance of technology and how this is keeping her involved with her grandchildren, albeit at a distance.

However, Nadia explains that there are limited local opportunities for older people to engage with and called for well-designed clubs and parks for older people to use. She also speaks about how transports, infrastructure and the physical environment -including streets’ layout and pavements – are not designed with older people in mind. The unsuitable infrastructure hinders the opportunity for older people to even go for regular walks to maintain their physical health.

Rania and her sisters, who are all engineers, had their lives changing entirely in an attempt to care for their parents properly. They faced particular challenges to support their mother, who has developed some mobility issues. Rania talks about the layered difficulties they face on a day to day basis from financial to emotional struggle. She highlights how the environment and infrastructure are not suitable for people with physical disabilities, which makes going out for a wheelchair user almost impossible. Rania also discusses the lack of opportunities for older people to participate in various social and economic activities. She provides the example of her father, who has considerable capabilities but is not enabled to make use of them.

Older people themselves bring considerable benefits to the family and society. Evidence from other regions shows that older people play instrumental roles in supporting younger generations. From financial help to in-kind support through the provision of much-needed child care or accommodations on top of endless emotional support. Older people also have valued professional and personal expertise; thus, creating opportunities for older people to participate outside of the family sphere would bring added value to the whole society.

The MENARAH network emphasises the importance of healthy ageing in its broadest meaning, to include physical, psychological and social aspects. A core part of this is the creation of accessible opportunities for older people, from various walks of life, to participate effectively in more comprehensive economic and social activities. Such opportunities should acknowledge, and attempt to counter the impact of, the cumulative disadvantages over the life course of different groups of people.

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.