حلول التطبيب عن بعد لكبار السن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

0
499
الآراء

فريق المشروع: الأستاذة شيرين حسين ، دكتور محمد سلامة ، جلال أبو الدهب

تعتبر مصر الدولة العربية الأكثر اكتظاظًا بالسكان بمعدل نمو يبلغ 2.21 تيرابايت 1 تيرابايت سنويًا ، ومن المتوقع أن يصل عدد السكان إلى 151 مليونًا بحلول عام 2050 (كوليرز 2017) بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تتخلف مصر من حيث كمية ونوعية الرعاية الصحية مع 1.5 سرير فقط لكل 1000 شخص و 3.2 طبيب و 3.6 ممرض في عام 2014. وفقًا لـ Allianz Care ، يتكون نظام ومؤسسات الصحة العامة العامة من معدات قديمة وطوابير طويلة وغير كافية الموظفون الذي يُعزى في المقام الأول إلى انخفاض الاستثمار الحكومي في قطاع الصحة والذي يمثل 1.51 تيرا بايت 1 تيرابايت من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. نتيجة لعدم كفاية نسبة الأطباء إلى المرضى والرعاية الطبية المتدنية ، يعني الحجم المتزايد للسكان أنه سيكون هناك دائمًا طلب متزايد على خدمات البنية التحتية الصحية والطبية. 

الآن ، أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، في أعقاب COVID-19 ، يجد الأفراد من جميع أنحاء مصر أنفسهم دون الوصول إلى الرعاية الطبية بالمعايير المطلوبة. وصولهم إلى المتخصصين والأطباء والمتخصصين في الرعاية الطبية يعوقه انتشار الأمراض والاحتياطات مثل حظر التجول على مستوى الولاية. إن الانخفاض في إمكانية الوصول إلى جانب الجودة الرديئة للرعاية الطبية المتاحة في مصر يجعل من الأهمية بمكان تقديم بديل جديد قابل للتطبيق لاختراق السوق الانتهازي.

نتيجة لذلك ، ظهر الطب عن بعد والتكنولوجيا الصحية كحلول قابلة للتطبيق لتقديم رعاية طبية أكثر ملاءمة وعند الطلب ، خاصة في المناطق المحرومة والمكتظة بالسكان. هذا ، كبديل للاستشارات الطبية التقليدية ، يخفف من تكاليف السفر والجهد الإضافي المطلوب لكل من المرضى والمتخصصين للاجتماع في الوقت الفعلي. علاوة على ذلك ، سيكون لدى المرضى القدرة على الوصول إلى الأطباء في أي وقت وفي أي مكان مما يمثل بديلاً مزعجًا للمشهد الطبي حيث يمكن إجراء العيادات والاستشارات الافتراضية عبر الإنترنت. سيتم إجراء التشخيص الشامل من قبل مجموعة من الأطباء المعتمدين في جميع المجالات الملتزمين بتوفير رعاية فائقة للمرضى.

علاوة على ذلك ، تعتبر مصر سوقًا متناميًا لمستخدمي الهواتف الذكية كما اقترحت مؤسسة البيانات الدولية (IDC) ، حيث وجدت أن شحنات الهاتف المحمول إلى مصر كانت 14.9 مليون وحدة في عام 2019 وحده ، مع 72% هي الهواتف الذكية. وهذا يعني أن قدرة المستخدمين في جميع أنحاء مصر على الاتصال بالطب عن بعد والتواصل على السحابة تتزايد بشكل كبير. معلومة أخرى مثيرة للاهتمام هي حقيقة أن 81.1% من جميع الهواتف الذكية كان حجمها 6 بوصات أو أكبر ، وهي فرصة رائعة للمرضى لعرض وإدارة جميع الملفات الشخصية الطبية والرعاية الصحية عن بُعد بشكل ملائم.

بالتعاون مع الجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة ، أجرينا مسحًا تجريبيًا بثلاثة أسئلة بسيطة لقياس السوق. تم إرسال الاستبيان إلى 500 فرد. يعتقد غالبية المشاركين أن تطوير منصة عبر الإنترنت للرعاية الصحية أمر في غاية الأهمية.

كان السؤال الأخير هو السؤال الأكثر توجهاً بشكل مباشر من الاستبيان بأكمله. لقد عملت على قياس وجهة نظر المستجيبين حول أي مجموعة من السكان في أمس الحاجة لمنصة التطبيب عن بعد. كما هو متوقع ، حصل كبار السن على جزء كبير من الردود التي تعمل على إظهار أن نقاط البيع الفريدة للنظام ستكون مفيدة وفعالة للمجتمع.

لقد أجرينا أيضًا مقابلات مع ستة مهنيين طبيين لفهم الآثار العملية لمثل هذا النموذج. حددنا فكرة أولية عن الاستخدام والوظيفة المحتملين لحل التطبيب عن بعد ، وهي فكرة خاصة بكبار السن في المنطقة.

قمنا بتنظيم هذه الوظيفة في أربع فئات:

كشف (موعد الطبيب لأول مرة):

هذه كاشف ستشمل استشارات أولية قصيرة وكاملة مع الأطباء عبر مكالمة فيديو على المنصة. سيكون هذا بمثابة فرصة للمريض للاتصال بالطبيب لطلب مساعدته وشرح أعراضه وتقديم المشورة. 

Estesharet (استشارة فحص):

هذه استشارا سيكون بمثابة استشارة عودة على الاجتماعات السابقة مع الطبيب ، سواء كانت جسدية أو من خلال خدمة كشف. سيكون هذا اجتماعًا موجزًا يركز على آخر المستجدات في حالة المريض والأدوية المحتملة من هناك. 

Roshettet (وصفة الطبيب): 

هذه روشتة سيكون بمثابة ملخص للاستشارة عبر الإنترنت لتزويد المريض بتشخيص الطبيب. في الوقت نفسه ، سيشمل ذلك جميع الأدوية والوصفات الطبية التي أوصى بها الطبيب. متاح في أي وقت ، ويتم حفظه في ملف تعريف المريض الفريد الخاص بك.

So2al (استجوب طبيبك):

توفر هذه الميزة للأطباء القدرة على طرح أي سؤال طبي يرغبون فيه. سيسمح هذا بعد ذلك للأطباء ذوي الخبرة في هذا المجال بالاستجابة. سيتمكن الأطباء أيضًا من مشاركة المقالات والحقائق والتطورات في تخصصهم. يمكن للمرضى البحث من خلال So2al اضغط لتتعلم أشياء جديدة كل يوم. 

تشير هذه الدراسة التجريبية إلى الحاجة إلى منصة للتطبيب عن بعد موجهة نحو خدمة كبار السن والقائمين على رعايتهم. لن يؤدي إنشاء مثل هذه المنصة إلى تقليل حاجز الوصول للأشخاص غير القادرين على الوصول إلى الرعاية الطبية شخصيًا فحسب ، بل من المرجح أن يفتح فرصًا جديدة لتعزيز كفاءة النظام الصحي. إن دمج الملفات الطبية وتاريخ المريض الكامل والسجل الطبي الشامل سيساعد المهنيين الطبيين في تشخيص المرضى بشكل أكثر دقة وفي مرحلة مبكرة. ستكون منصة التطبيب عن بعد لكبار السن طريقة مبتكرة لتحسين حياة المرضى ببضع نقرات.  

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

الأستاذة شيرين حسين أستاذة سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين أبحاثًا مكثفة حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، وعلى الصعيد الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء مباشرة إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

+ المشاركات

معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية ، الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة ، مصر

أنشأ الدكتور محمد سلامة أول وحدة ترجمة في علم الأعصاب في مصر. أدى بحث محمد التعاوني إلى إنشاء الشبكة المصرية للاضطرابات التنكسية العصبية (ENND). تم اختيار محمد كباحث عالمي أول في SOT في عام 2013 وحاصل على جائزة Translational / bridging في عام 2016. وقد تم تكريمه من قبل مؤسسة باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة (PMDF) لأبحاثه المستمرة في مجال التنكس العصبي.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، نجح محمد وزملاؤه في صياغة الأولى مرجع الجينوم المصري والتعاون مع الزملاء الآخرين لبدء مجموعة وطنية (دراسة طولية للشيخوخة الصحية في مصر [الصحة]). حاليًا ، محمد هو زميل أقدم من معهد الأطلسي للمساواة في صحة الدماغ في المعهد العالمي لصحة الدماغ (GBHI) وأستاذ مشارك في معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية في الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة (AUC).

Telemedicine solutions for older people in the MENA region

0
336
views

Project team: Professor Shereen Hussein, Dr Mohamed Salama, Galal Abu El-Dahab

Egypt is considered the most populated Arab country with a 2.2% growth rate per year, with the population expected to be 151 million by 2050 (Colliers 2017). Additionally, Egypt falls behind in the quantity and quality of healthcare with a mere 1.5 beds per 1,000 people, 3.2 physicians and 3.6 nurses in 2014. According to Allianz Care, the general public health system and institutions consist of outdated equipment, long queues and inadequate staff which is primarily attributable to the low state investment into the health sector which represents 1.5% of GDP. As a consequence of the insufficient physician to patient ratio and substandard medical care, the ever-growing population size means that there will always be a growing demand for health and medical infrastructure services. 

Now, more than ever, in the wake of COVID-19, individuals from all around Egypt find themselves without access to the medical care of the required standard. Their reach to specialists, physicians and medical care professionals is hindered by the spread of disease and precautions such as statewide curfew. The decrease in accessibility alongside, the poor quality of available medical care in Egypt make it paramount to deliver a new alternative viable of penetrating the opportunistic market.

As a result, telemedicine and health-tech arise as viable solutions to deliver more convenient and on-demand medical care, especially in underserved and overpopulated areas. This, as an alternative to traditional medical consultations, alleviates travel costs and additional effort required for both patients and specialists to meet in real-time. Furthermore, patients will possess the ability to access doctors anytime and anywhere posing a disruptive alternative to the medical scene as virtual clinics and consultations can take place online. Comprehensive diagnosis will be carried out by an array of certified doctors in all field committed to providing superior patient care.

Moreover, Egypt is considered to be a growing market for smartphone users as suggested by the International Data Corporation (IDC), finding that mobile shipments to Egypt were 14.9 million units in 2019 alone, with 72% being smartphones. This means that the ability for users across Egypt to connect to telemedicine and communicate on the cloud is increasing exponentially. Another interesting piece of information is the fact that 81.1% of all smartphones had been 6 inches or larger which is a great opportunity for patients to view and manage all medical profiles and telehealth conveniently.

In collaboration with the American University in Cairo, we conducted a pilot survey with a simple three questions to gauge the market. The questionnaire was sent to 500 individuals.  The majority of participants believed developing an online platform for healthcare is of utmost importance.

The final question was the most directly oriented question from the whole questionnaire. It served to gauge the respondents’ view on which group of the population most needed such telemedicine platform. As expected, the elderly gained a considerable portion of responses which serves to show that the unique selling points of the system will be beneficial and effective to the community.

We have also conducted interviews with six medical professionals to understand the practical implications of such a model. We identified an initial idea of the potential use and functionality of a telemedicine solution, that is specific to older people in the region.

We organised such functionality into four categories:

Kashf (First time Doctor Appointment):

This Kashf will include short initial and full consultations with doctors via video call on the platform. This will serve as an opportunity for the patient to get in contact with the physician to ask for their help, explain their symptoms and render advice. 

Estesharet (Check Up Consultation):

This Esteshara will act as a return consultation on previous meetings with the doctor, whether they be physical or through the Kashf service by. This will be a brief meeting emphasizing the updates of the patient’s case and possible medication from there onwards. 

Roshettet (Doctor’s Prescription): 

This Rosheta will serve as a summary of the online consultation providing the patient with the doctor diagnosis. At the same time, this will include all the medications and prescriptions that the doctor has recommended. Available at any time, saved to your unique patient profile.

So2al (Question your Doctor):

This feature provides doctors with the ability to ask any medical question that they would like. This will then allow other experienced doctors in the field to respond. Doctors will also be able to share articles, facts and developments in their speciality. Patients can search through the So2al tab to learn new things every day. 

This pilot study indicates the the need for a telemedicine platform that is oriented towards serving older people and their family carers. Creating such a platform will not only reduce the accessibility barrier for those unable to reach medical care in person, but it is likely to open new opportunities for enhancing the efficiency of the health system. Incorporating medical files, complete patient history and an overall inclusive medical record will assist medical professionals in diagnosing patients more accurately and at an early stage. The telemedicine platform for the elderly would be an innovative way to better patients’ lives with a few clicks.  

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.

+ posts

Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology, American University in Cairo, Egypt

Dr Mohamed Salama established the first Translational Neuroscience Unit in Egypt. Mohamed’s collaborative research led to establishing the Egyptian Network for Neurodegenerative Disorders (ENND). Mohamed was selected as a SOT Global Senior Scholar in 2013 and Translational/bridging awardee in 2016. He was awarded by Parkinson’s and Movement Disorders Foundation (PMDF) for his continuing research in the field of neurodegeneration.

Recently, Mohamed and his colleagues succeeded to draft the first Reference Egyptian Genome and collaborating with other colleagues to start a national cohort (A Longitudinal Study of Egyptian Health Aging [AL-SEHA]). Currently, Mohamed is Atlantic senior fellow for Equity in brain health at the Global Brain Health Institute (GBHI) and Associate professor at the Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology at the American University in Cairo (AUC).