الطلب العالمي على العاملين في مجال رعاية المهاجرين: الدوافع والتداعيات على رفاهية المهاجرين

0
46
الآراء

تؤدي التغيرات الديموغرافية في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى زيادة الطلب على تنقل العمالة في مجال الرعاية. لا تقتصر مساهمة العمال المهاجرين في أنظمة الرعاية طويلة الأجل (LTC) على العالم الغربي أو البلدان التي أكملت بالفعل تحولات الشيخوخة ؛ كما أنهم يلعبون دورًا أساسيًا في الحفاظ على أنظمة الرعاية في البلدان ذات السكان المسنين الناشئين. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من الطلب المتزايد على خدمات LTC ، تظل هذه الوظائف غير جذابة مع ظروف العمل الصعبة والآفاق غير الآمنة في معظم البلدان الأوروبية وهي ناشئة فقط في الشرق الأوسط.

في معظم البلدان الأوروبية ، يساهم العمال المهاجرون ، وخاصة النساء اللائي يبحثن عن فرص اقتصادية واجتماعية ومهنية جديدة ، في تلبية متطلبات الرعاية المتصاعدة. تحدث مثل هذه التدفقات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بين البلدان الأقل تقدمًا اقتصاديًا والبلدان الأكثر تقدمًا اقتصاديًا ، مثل من أوروبا الشرقية والوسطى إلى أوروبا الغربية أو من دول ما بعد الاستعمار في حالة المملكة المتحدة أو فرنسا. علاوة على ذلك ، لوحظت هذه الظاهرة خارج أوروبا الغربية. على سبيل المثال ، في جنوب شرق آسيا ، تعتمد العديد من البلدان على المهاجرين من الدول المجاورة مثل الصين وتايوان وإندونيسيا وسنغافورة.

في شيخوخة السكان الذين يمرون بمرحلة انتقالية ، كما هو الحال في العديد من البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل (LMIC) ، يرتبط فائض العمال بعوائد السكان. ومع ذلك ، فإن أنظمة LTC في معظم هذه البيئات لا تزال في طور الظهور وتتميز بممارسات العمل غير الرسمية مع الحد الأدنى من حماية العمالة ، مما يعيق قدرتها على جذب العمال والاحتفاظ بهم على الرغم من هذه الأرباح. ومع ذلك ، هناك أيضًا قنوات تنقل قوية داخل المناطق بما في ذلك الشرق الأقصى وأفريقيا والشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. يؤدي الطلب المتزايد على LTC والسمية غير الرسمية لترتيبات الرعاية إلى زيادة الطلب على العمالة المهاجرة ضمن هذه الهياكل القائمة ومن المحتمل أن تخلق طرقًا وقنوات جديدة. ومن ثم ، يملأ العمال المهاجرون طلبات الرعاية والعجز داخل السكان المضيفين ويحدث داخل هياكل العمل التي تكون إما غير رسمية تمامًا ، كما هو الحال في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، أو داخل القطاعات التي لديها ظروف عمل غير مواتية هيكليًا وأمن وظيفي وآفاق.

ينبع الطلب على قوة عاملة كبيرة ومتنوعة من LTC من عدة محددات. ومن أهم هذه العوامل الهيكل الديموغرافي المتغير في العديد من البلدان ، لا سيما البلدان التي لاحظت شيخوخة السكان لعدة عقود ، مثل أوروبا الغربية وأمريكا الشمالية واليابان. يختلف مدى شيخوخة السكان على مستوى العالم ولكنه بشكل عام في مرحلة متقدمة في البلدان الأكثر تقدمًا اقتصاديًا. ومع ذلك ، فإن وتيرة شيخوخة السكان سريعة بشكل لا يصدق في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. على سبيل المثال ، من المتوقع أن تكمل دول مثل قطر والمملكة العربية السعودية تحولها الديموغرافي في أقل من 10-15 عامًا.

لطالما كان المهاجرون العاملون في LTC مصدرًا مرنًا للعمالة لسد الفجوات في التوظيف وعادة ما يتم تعيينهم من مجموعة العمال المهاجرين الموجودين بالفعل في البلاد أو من خلال خطط هجرة محددة. العمال المهاجرون ممثلون تمثيلا زائدا في وظائف الرعاية في العديد من البلدان ، ويزداد نصيبهم بشكل أسرع من بقية الاقتصاد ، حتى أثناء الانكماش الاقتصادي. تشكل العديد من العوامل رفاهية العمال المهاجرين ، من أهمها شروط وأحكام وعقود وظائفهم ، بالنظر إلى أن العمل عادة ما يكون آلية تسهيل تنقل هذه المجموعة. تتجلى أهمية ظروف العمل لرفاهية العمال المهاجرين في مناطق مختلفة ، بما في ذلك أوروبا والشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. تؤثر الخصائص الشخصية والاجتماعية للمهاجرين أيضًا على رفاهية العمال الأفراد. في بعض البلدان ، لا سيما في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، يؤدي الافتقار إلى أنظمة LTC الرسمية والعوامل غير الرسمية لتوفير الرعاية إلى توسيع مهام واجبات العمال المنزليين الحاليين لتشمل توفير LTC دون تدريب رسمي أو حماية عمالية. انخفاض حماية العمالة وسوء ظروف العمل يؤثران سلبًا على العمال LTC. وبالتالي يتم وضع المهاجرين العاملين في LTC ضمن سياقات من المحتمل أن تتحدى رفاههم بسبب ظروف العمل الصعبة جنبًا إلى جنب مع الشبكات الاجتماعية المحدودة والمطالب التي تطرحها مطالب الرعاية في البلدان المضيفة والبلدان الأصلية.

يُظهر تحليل بيانات المقابلات النوعية الأولية من المملكة المتحدة أنه في حين أن الديناميكيات الحالية للشيخوخة و LTC تخلق فرصًا لتنقل العمال المهاجرين وقدرتهم على تأمين وظائف في البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع ، فإن هذه تأتي مع تكاليف معينة يدفعها العمال المهاجرون. وترتبط هذه بآثار على رفاههم وظروف العمل الصعبة لقطاع LTC جنبًا إلى جنب مع فجوات الرعاية الجديدة في البلدان الأصلية التي نشأت من خلال التنقل. وجد التحليل أن العمال المهاجرين يمرون بعملية كبيرة للتفاوض بشأن ترتيبات الرعاية في بلدانهم الأصلية. وتشمل هذه الترتيبات توفير الرعاية المادية في المملكة المتحدة وعبر الحدود في بلدانهم الأصلية من خلال استخدام نظام عمل مفصل. كانت هذه الترتيبات ذات صلة بشكل خاص بالمهاجرين من الاتحاد الأوروبي والمهاجرين من خارج الاتحاد الأوروبي الذين يمكنهم السفر بحرية ، على سبيل المثال ، من جنوب إفريقيا بجوازات سفر هولندية. عادةً ما يميل الآخرون ، الذين لا يستطيعون السفر بحرية وبشكل متكرر بسبب قيود مالية أو قيود التأشيرة ، إلى تمويل وتنظيم خدمات الرعاية في بلدانهم الأصلية. تم العثور على التأثير على رفاهية عمال الرعاية المهاجرين ليكون كبيرا في كلا النوعين من الترتيبات.

إن الطلب على العاملين في مجال رعاية المهاجرين عالمي ولا يقتصر على البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع أو تلك الموجودة في مرحلة لاحقة من شيخوخة السكان. لا يزال تدفق العمال ، وخاصة النساء ، مهمًا في الحفاظ على أنظمة LTC ورفاهية أولئك الذين يستخدمون هذه الخدمات في العديد من البلدان. وبالتالي ، يساهم عمال رعاية المهاجرين بشكل إيجابي وكبير في تعزيز واستدامة رفاهية أولئك الذين يحتاجون إلى LTC في البلدان المضيفة. في الوقت نفسه ، تخلق هذه التنقلات العالمية فجوات في الرعاية في البلدان الأصلية ، مع زيادة الضغط على العمال لتقديم رعاية عبر الحدود أو تنظيم الرعاية عن بعد مع الإضرار بسياسات الرفاهية الخاصة بهم. ينبغي تنفيذ الهياكل في البلدان المستقبلة لضمان استدامة رفاهية العمال المهاجرين لضمان استمرارية الرعاية وتلبية متطلبات الرعاية الحالية والمستقبلية.

نتائج هذه الدراسة لها العديد من الآثار المترتبة على السياسات. بالنسبة لدول منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، يستمر الطلب على LTC في التصاعد ، وسيستمر الاعتماد على العمال المهاجرين مع تقلص الفئات في سن العمل. يجب أن يكون تخطيط القوى العاملة LTC مجالًا ذا أولوية ، مع استراتيجيات تركز على تعزيز وظائف LTC وظروف العمل لجذب العمال من المنزل والمهاجرين ، وتحقيق المشهد التنافسي الذي تعمل فيه مختلف البلدان. على سبيل المثال ، تواصل دول أوروبا الغربية الاعتماد على المهاجرين من أوروبا الشرقية والوسطى ، حيث يستخدم الأفراد عملية اتخاذ القرار الشخصية لاختيار وجهتهم. وبالمثل ، تتنافس بلدان الشرق الأقصى على تنقل العمالة من البلدان المجاورة مثل الفلبين. سيؤدي تنفيذ التدخلات لدعم رفاهية العاملين LTC ، بما في ذلك المهاجرين ، إلى تحسين الاستبقاء وتقليل التكاليف الإجمالية المرتبطة بالتوظيف وإعادة التدريب. بالنسبة لبلدان منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، تتطلب الاتجاهات الناشئة للتحولات العمرية تطورات استراتيجية سريعة. ومن أهم هذه العوامل إنشاء أسواق منظمة LTC منظمة حيث يجب ضمان جودة الخدمات وعقود العمل.

الاقتباس: حسينالطلب العالمي على العاملين في مجال رعاية المهاجرين: الدوافع والآثار المترتبة على رفاهية المهاجرين. الاستدامة 2022,14، 10612. https://doi.org/10.3390 / su141710612

الاستدامة - الحسين 2022

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

The Global Demand for Migrant Care Workers: Drivers and Implications on Migrants’ Wellbeing

0
45
views

Demographic changes across the globe create increasing demands for care labour mobility. The contribution of migrant workers to the long-term care (LTC) systems is not confined to the western world or countries that have already completed their ageing transitions; they also play an essential role in maintaining the care systems in countries with emerging ageing populations. However, despite the increased demand for LTC services, such jobs remain unattractive with difficult working conditions and insecure prospects in most European countries and are only emerging in the Middle East.

In most European countries, migrant workers, primarily women seeking new economic, social, and professional opportunities, contribute to meeting the escalating care demands. Such flows occur across the globe, between less economically and more economically developed countries, such as from Eastern and Central Europe to Western Europe or from post-colonial nations in the case of the UK or France. Moreover, this phenomenon is observed beyond Western Europe. For example, in South East Asia, many countries draw on migrants from neighbouring countries such as China, Taiwan, Indonesia, and Singapore.

In ageing transitioning populations, such as in many low- and middle-income countries (LMIC), a surplus of workers is associated with population dividends. However, the LTC systems in most of these settings are still emerging and characterised by informal working practices with minimal employment protection, hindering their ability to attract and retain workers despite these dividends. Yet, there are also strong mobility channels within regions including the far East, Africa and MENA. The increased demand for LTC and the informality of care arrangements increase the demand for migrant labour within these existing structures and potentially create new routes and channels. Hence, migrant workers fill in care demands and deficits within the host population and occur within labour structures that are either completely informal, as is the case in MENA, or within sectors that have structurally unfavourable working conditions and job security and prospects.

The demand for a diverse and sizable LTC workforce stems from several determinants. The prime among these is the changing demographic structure in many countries, especially countries that have observed aged populations for several decades, such as Western Europe, North America and Japan. The extent of population ageing varies globally but is generally at an advanced stage in more economically developed countries. Yet, the pace of population ageing is incredibly fast in MENA. For example, countries such as Qatar and Saudi Arabia are projected to complete their demographic transition in as little as 10–15 years.

Migrants working in LTC have traditionally been a flexible source of labour to fill gaps in staffing and are usually recruited from the pool of migrant workers already in the country or through specific migration schemes. Migrant workers are overrepresented in care occupations in several countries, and their share increases faster than in the rest of the economy, even during the economic downturn. Many factors shape the wellbeing of labour migrants, paramount among which are the terms, conditions, and contracts of their jobs, given that work is usually the facilitating mechanism of the mobility of this group. The significance of working conditions to migrant workers’ wellbeing is evident in different regions, including Europe and MENA. Migrants’ personal and social characteristics also influence the wellbeing of individual workers. In some countries, particularly in the MENA region, the lack of formal LTC systems and informalities of care provision extends the tasks of existing domestic workers’ duties to include LTC provision without formal training or labour protection. Reduced employment protection and poor working conditions adversely impact LTC workers. Migrants working in LTC are thus positioned within contexts likely to challenge their wellbeing due to difficult working conditions combined with limited social networks and demands posed by their caring demands in the host and home countries.

The analysis of primary qualitative interview data from the UK shows that, while the current dynamics of ageing and LTC create opportunities for migrant workers’ mobility and their ability to secure jobs in higher-income countries, these come with certain costs paid by migrant workers. These are associated with implications for their wellbeing and the difficult working conditions of the LTC sector combined with new care gaps in home countries created through mobility. The analysis found that migrant workers go through a considerable process of negotiating care arrangements in their home country. Such arrangements include the physical provision of care in the UK and across borders in their home countries by employing a detailed working rota. These arrangements were particularly relevant to EU migrants and non-EU migrants who can travel freely, for example, those from South Africa with Dutch passports. Others, who cannot travel freely and frequently due to financial or visa constraints, usually tend to finance and organise care provisions in their home country. The impact on the wellbeing of migrant care workers was found to be significant in both types of arrangements.

The demand for migrant care workers is global and not restricted to high-income countries or those at a later stage of population ageing. The flow of workers, particularly women, continues to be significant in maintaining LTC systems and the wellbeing of those using such services in many countries. Migrant care workers, thus, positively and significantly contribute to the enhancement and sustainability of the wellbeing of those in need of LTC in host countries. Simultaneously, these global mobilities create care gaps in home countries, with increased pressure on workers to provide cross-border care or organise care at a distance while compromising their wellbeing policies. Structures should be implemented in receiving countries to ensure the sustainability of migrant workers’ wellbeing to ensure continuity of care and meet current and future care demands.

The findings of this study have several policy implications. For OECD countries, the demand for LTC continues to escalate, and the reliance on migrant workers will continue with shrinking working-age groups. LTC workforce planning should be a priority area, with strategies focusing on enhancing LTC jobs and working conditions to attract home and migrant workers, realising the competitive landscape different countries operate within. For example, Western European countries continue to draw on migrants from Eastern and Central Europe, where individuals employ their subjective decision process to choose their destination. Similarly, countries in the far East compete for labour mobility from neighbouring countries such as the Philippines. Implementing interventions to support the wellbeing of LTC workers, including migrants, will improve retention and reduce overall costs associated with recruitment and retraining. For countries in the MENA region, the emerging trends of ageing transitions call for rapid strategic developments. Prime among these is establishing regulated LTC markets where the quality of services and employment contracts should be ensured.

Citation: Hussein, S. The Global Demand for Migrant Care Workers: Drivers and Implications on Migrants’ Wellbeing. Sustainability 2022,14,10612. https://doi.org/ 10.3390/su141710612

sustainability-Hussein2022

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and its impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.