في أغسطس 2022 ، التقينا البروفيسور لانس داليك، جامعة ويسترن كولورادو ، للاستفادة من خبرته الواسعة في البحث عن دور التمرين في تحسين نوعية الحياة بين مجموعة متنوعة من الأفراد مع تقدمهم في السن.

تركز بعض أبحاث البروفيسور داليك على كيفية تأثير العمر على استجابات الأفراد للتدريب البدني. يظهر بحثه أن كبار السن يمكنهم تحسين نتائجهم الصحية بشكل كبير إذا تلقوا برامج تمارين رياضية مخصصة. على سبيل المثال ، يسلط البحث الأخير الضوء على أن الأفراد الأكبر سنًا (50-70 عامًا) يمكنهم تحسين مستوى لياقتهم البدنية إلى نفس المدى النسبي مثل الأفراد الأصغر سنًا (18-35 عامًا) من خلال برامج تمارين مخصصة. تحدث البروفيسور داليك عن ضمان تبني برامج التمارين ثقافيًا وفرديًا لتحقيق أكبر قدر من التأثير. لقد عكس تجربته في قيادة شركة مصممة خصيصًا برنامج التمرين استهداف مجتمعات الماوري في نيوزيلندا أثناء مناقشة إمكانات مثل هذا النهج في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا.

ناقش البروفيسور دالك بعض الاستراتيجيات الناجحة التي يمكن أن تدعم جهود شبكة منارة من خلالالحركة نعمة"مبادرة في تعزيز استيعاب كبار السن للأنشطة البدنية في المنطقة - أولاً ، زيادة الوعي بكيفية تأثر أجسامنا بالشيخوخة ، بما في ذلك عملية تقليل كتلة العضلات. ومن ثم ، فإن ضمان الحركة المنتظمة والتمارين الأساسية في حياتنا اليومية مع تقدمنا في السن أمر بالغ الأهمية. ثانيًا ، تصميم برنامج يلبي احتياجات مجموعة معينة من الأفراد. على سبيل المثال ، افترض أن السمنة ونمط الحياة المستقرة من بين الاهتمامات الأساسية. في هذه الحالة ، من المرجح أن يكون البرنامج الخاص بتمارين القلب والأوعية الدموية المضمن في الروتين اليومي للفرد أكثر فاعلية من برنامج التمرين الأكثر عمومية. ثانيًا ، السياق الثقافي والتفضيلات الفردية ضرورية للنظر فيها. وضرب مثالاً على تصميم الأنشطة الخارجية في المتنزهات أو الأماكن العامة عندما يفضل الأفراد والجماعات أن يكونوا منسجمين مع الطبيعة. أو تفصيل بعض الأنشطة التي يجب القيام بها في المنزل عندما يتعذر على الأفراد الوصول إلى الصالات الرياضية أو قاعات التمرينات. ثالثًا ، يعد رصد التقدم والنتائج الصحية أمرًا مهمًا للحفاظ على التقدم.

ثم عكست المناقشة التجارب المتنوعة للمجتمعات الأكبر سناً في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا. تسليط الضوء على أهمية ضمان أن الأنشطة البدنية تقع ضمن نمط الحياة الأوسع للفرد ، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الميسرين والقيود الصحية والاجتماعية الخاصة بهم. قدم بعضًا من أعمال الدكتورة أنجيلا داليك مع ويلنس إليفتد ، جامعة غرب كولورادو ، حيث يقومون بتدريب الطلاب على العمل مع الأفراد ذوي الاحتياجات المختلفة للرعاية طويلة الأجل لتحسين نوعية حياتهم من خلال برامج اللياقة البدنية المخصصة. في الفيديو التالي ، تتحدث الدكتورة أنجيلا داليك عن فوائد هذا البرنامج للأفراد الذين يتلقون التدريب وكذلك للطلاب الذين يعملون مع مجموعة متنوعة من الأشخاص. تعتبر هذه المبادرة ذات قيمة كبيرة لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا للاستفادة منها عند بناء قدرات وتدريب المهنيين الذين يعملون مع مجموعة متنوعة من كبار السن.

تتطلع MENARAH إلى الحصول على مزيد من الفرص للعمل مع البروفيسور Dalleck وفريقه لتعزيز الأنشطة البدنية كجزء من التغييرات الأوسع التي يمكن للأشخاص تنفيذها مع تقدمهم في السن. تعتبر التمارين البدنية أمرًا ضروريًا لجميع الأعمار ، ولكن بشكل خاص لكبار السن ، للحفاظ على حركتهم وأداء الأنشطة اليومية ، والتي تعد ضرورية لقدرتهم على العيش بشكل مستقل والاستمتاع بالأنشطة المتنوعة والحصول على تجربة حياة مُرضية. تقلل الأنشطة البدنية المنتظمة أيضًا من حالات السقوط ، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى عواقب صحية ضارة. علاوة على ذلك ، ترتبط الأنشطة البدنية بتحسن الحالة المزاجية وتحسين مستويات الرفاهية ، حيث أظهرت بعض الأبحاث الحديثة وجود روابط مع الصحة المعرفية أيضًا.

شاهد البروفيسور داليك يتحدث عن تأثير الشيخوخة على التدريب:

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

In August 2022, we met with Professor Lance Dalleck, Western Colorado University, to draw on his vast expertise in researching the role of exercise in enhancing the quality of life among a diverse group of individuals as they grow older.

Some of Professor Dalleck’s research focuses on how age might affect individuals’ responses to physical training. His research shows that older adults can significantly improve their health outcomes if they receive tailored exercise programmes. For example, recent research highlights that older individuals (50-70 years old) can improve their fitness level to the same relative extent as younger individuals (18-35 years old) with tailored exercise programmes. Professor Dalleck spoke of ensuring that exercise programmes are culturally and individually adopted to have the most effect. He reflected on his experience leading a tailored exercise programme targeting the Maori communities in New Zealand while discussing the potential of such an approach in the Middle East and North Africa Region.

Professor Dalleck discussed a few successful strategies that could support MENARAH’s network efforts through its ‘Movement is a Blessing‘ initiative in promoting the uptake of physical activities among older people in the region—first, raising awareness of how our body is affected by ageing, including a process of muscle-mass reduction. Hence, ensuring regular movement and basic exercise in our daily lives as we grow older is crucial. Second, designing a programme that addresses the needs of a particular group of individuals. For example, suppose obesity and a sedentary lifestyle are among the primary concerns. In that case, a programme specific to cardiovascular exercise embedded within an individual’s daily routine is likely to be more effective than a more generic exercise programme. Second, the cultural context and individual preferences are essential to consider. He gave an example of designing outdoor activities in parks or communal spaces when individuals and groups prefer to be attuned to nature. Or tailoring certain activities to be done at home when individuals cannot access gyms or exercise halls. Thirdly, monitoring progress and health outcomes is important to maintain progress.

The discussion then reflected on the diverse experiences of older communities across the globe, including in North America and Europe. highlighting the importance of ensuring physical activities are situated within the wider lifestyle of the individual, taking into account their health and social facilitators and constraints. He introduced some of Dr Angela Dalleck’s work with the Wellness Elevated, University of Western Colorado, where they train students to work with individuals with different long-term care needs to improve their quality of life through tailored physical fitness programmes. In the following video, Dr Angela Dalleck talks about the benefits of this programme for the individual receiving the training as well as for the students who are working with a diverse group of people. Such an initiative is very valuable for the MENA region to draw on when building the capacity and training of professionals working with a diverse group of older people.

MENARAH looks forward to having further opportunities to work with Professor Dalleck and his team to promote physical activities as part of wider changes people can implement as they grow older. Physical exercise is crucial for all ages, but particularly for older people, to maintain their mobility and perform everyday activities, which are essential for their ability to live independently, enjoy diverse activities and have a fulfilling life experience. Regular physical activities also reduce incidences of falls, which can trigger adverse health consequences. Furthermore, physical activities are linked to improved mood and enhanced levels of wellbeing, with some recent research showing links with cognitive health as well.

Watch Professor Dalleck talking about how ageing affects training recovery:

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and its impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.