أهداف شبكة المنارة مستوحاة من عقد الأمم المتحدة للشيخوخة الصحية مجالات العمل ضمن السياق الاجتماعي والديموغرافي والجيوسياسي المحدد لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. 

غالبًا ما تكون شيخوخة السكان بعدًا مهملاً من أبعاد السياسات في المنطقة بسبب التحديات السياسية المتنافسة المرتبطة بالنمو السكاني والفقر وبطالة الشباب. ومع ذلك ، فإن شيخوخة السكان سريعة جدًا لدرجة أنه في غضون 15-20 عامًا ، ستنتقل بعض البلدان في المنطقة من فئة الشباب إلى السكان المسنين. ومع ذلك ، فإن الوعي بهذه القضايا والمعنى المحدد للشيخوخة الصحية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ضئيل للغاية. والأهم من ذلك ، نادرًا ما تُسمع أصوات كبار السن وأسرهم.

تم تصميم أنشطة الشبكة لتعزيز مناقشة الشيخوخة وما يرتبط بها من آثار على السياسات والممارسات. يعتمد نهج MENARAH على بناء الشراكة والتعلم المتبادل ، والاستفادة من البيانات والمعرفة الموجودة بشكل أكثر فاعلية وضمان المشاركة الصوتية والهادفة. منذ إنشائها ، عززت شبكة MENARAH الاتصالات عبر الجهات الفاعلة الدولية والوطنية والمحلية. 

في عام 2022 ، قامت شبكة منارة بالعديد من أنشطة المشاركة مع كبار السن وأسرهم في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا لفهم العوامل الضرورية لتعزيز الشيخوخة الصحية. لقد شاركنا كذلك مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في السياسة والممارسة حول نفس المواضيع. لزيادة الوعي بالشيخوخة الصحية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، أنتجت منارة مقطع فيديو قصيرًا من الفسيفساء يلخص بعض الرسائل الرئيسية من هذا العمل ، ويسلط الضوء على بعض الميسرين ، والتحديات ، والتدخلات الإقليمية المحتملة. يتضمن الفيديو مقاطع من صانعي السياسات والباحثين والمنظمات غير الحكومية وكبار السن وأسرهم. 

قد يكون تحديد الشيخوخة الصحية أمرًا صعبًا ، حيث إنها تتضمن جوانب ذاتية وموضوعية. لذلك ، يعتبر اعتبار الشيخوخة الصحية كحالة شاملة تتجاوز الظروف الصحية أو القيود الوظيفية أمرًا بالغ الأهمية. قد يتعلق أحد التحديات الحاسمة للشيخوخة الصحية واستيعاب سلوك الشيخوخة الصحي بالإدراك الفردي والمجتمعي للشيخوخة. ومن الأمور الخاصة بالمنطقة تعزيز استقلال كبار السن وخلق فرص ذات مغزى للمشاركة في مختلف جوانب المجتمع ، حيث يكتسب كبار السن إحساسًا بالهدف والأهمية. من الأهمية بمكان تمكين كبار السن وأسرهم من تحديد احتياجاتهم والمطالبة بها. الحفاظ على صحة بدنية ونفسية جيدة أمر أساسي لضمان شيخوخة صحية ؛ ومع ذلك ، فإن إدارة الظروف الصحية مع الاستمرار في المشاركة حسب الرغبة يوفر شيخوخة صحية. من الأهمية بمكان ضمان إسماع صوت كبار السن من جميع مناحي الحياة عند تصميم وتنفيذ التدخلات الصحية للشيخوخة في المنطقة. عملية تتطلب من جميع الجهات الفاعلة ، من المنظمات الدولية إلى الأفراد ، العمل معًا. 

تواصل المنارة رعاية الروابط وضمان الاستفادة من الأدلة والبحوث لتحسين نوعية حياة كبار السن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، وتساهم في تحقيق الأهداف الأساسية لعقد الأمم المتحدة المتمثلة في مكافحة التفرقة العمرية ، وخلق بيئات صديقة للمسنين ، وإنشاء رعاية متكاملة وطويلة الأمد. - أنظمة الرعاية.

دعم برنامج المنح الصغيرة للمشاركة العامة - منحة التطوير المستمر من كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي - هذا العمل.

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

The MENARAH Network goals are inspired by the UN Decade of Health Ageing action areas within the specific social, demographic and geo-political context of the Middle East and North Africa Region. 

Population ageing is often a neglected policy dimension in the region due to competing policy challenges associated with population growth, poverty and youth unemployment. However, the population ageing is so fast that within as little as 15-20 years, some countries in the region will transfer from young to ageing populations. Yet, awareness of these issues and the specific meaning of healthy ageing in the MENA region is minimal. More importantly, the voices of older people and their families are seldom heard.

The Network activities are designed to promote the discussion of ageing and associated policy and practice implications. MENARAH’s approach relies on partnership building and cross-learning, utilising existing data and knowledge most effectively and ensuring voice and meaningful engagement. Since its inception, the MENARAH network has nurtured connections across international, national and local actors. 

In 2022, the MENARAH Network undertook several engagement activities with older people and their families in the MENA region to understand the factors necessary to promote healthy ageing. We further engaged with key policy and practice stakeholders about the same topics. To raise awareness about healthy ageing in the MENA region, MENARAH produced a short mosaic video summarising some of the key messages from this work, highlighting some facilitators, challenges, and potential regional interventions. The video includes clips from policymakers, researchers, NGOs, older people and their families. 

Healthy ageing can be challenging to define, as it includes subjective and objective aspects. Therefore, considering healthy ageing as a holistic state beyond health conditions or functional limitations is crucial. One of the critical challenges to healthy ageing and the uptake of healthy ageing behaviour may relate to the individual and societal perception of ageing. Specific to the region is to promote the independence of older people and create meaningful opportunities for participation in various aspects of society, where older people gain a sense of purpose and importance. It is crucial to empower older people and their families to establish and demand their needs. Maintaining good physical and psychological health is key to ensuring healthy ageing; however, managing health conditions while continuing to participate as desired provides healthy ageing. It is paramount to ensure the voice of older people from all walks of life when designing and implementing healthy ageing interventions in the region. A process that requires all actors, from international organisations to individuals, to work together. 

MENARAH continues to nurture connections and ensure the utilisation of evidence and research to enhance the quality of life of older people in the MENA region and contributes toward the UN Decade’s core aims of combating ageism, creating age-friendly environments, and establishing integrated care and long-term care systems.

Public Engagement Small Grants Scheme Continued Development Grant from the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine supported this work.

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and its impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.