موجز مناصرة من منظمة الصحة العالمية: العزلة الاجتماعية والوحدة بين كبار السن

0
160
الآراء

بقلم: كريستوفر ميكتون ، مسؤول تقني ، منظمة الصحة العالمية ، جنيف

أطلقته منظمة الصحة العالمية في اليوم الدولي للصداقة ، وهو موجز جديد للدعوة يسلط الضوء على انتشار العزلة الاجتماعية والوحدة بين كبار السن على مستوى العالم. أدى جائحة COVID-19 وما نتج عنه من تدابير التباعد الجسدي إلى تفاقم هذه الظروف. يشير الموجز إلى أن عقد الأمم المتحدة للشيخوخة الصحية 2021-2030 يمثل فرصة كبيرة لمنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) ووكالات الأمم المتحدة الأخرى لمعالجة العزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة بطريقة أكثر استدامة. تشير الدراسات إلى أن 20-341 طنًا واحدًا من كبار السن في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم - بما في ذلك الصين والهند والولايات المتحدة وأوروبا - يعانون من الوحدة وأن المعدلات في المؤسسات أعلى من ذلك. تقصر العزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة من عمر كبار السن وتضر بصحتهم العقلية والجسدية ونوعية حياتهم. تشمل العواقب الصحية الجسدية حالات مثل أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسكتة الدماغية وعواقب الصحة العقلية وتشمل حالات مثل التدهور المعرفي والخرف والاكتئاب والقلق والتفكير الانتحاري والانتحار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تفرض العزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة عبئًا ماليًا ثقيلًا على المجتمعات. 

قاعدة الأدلة للتدخلات للحد من العزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة بين كبار السن لا تزال غير متساوية ، مع العديد من النتائج المختلطة وغير الحاسمة. يحدد موجز المناصرة سبع فرص لتحسين البيانات والبحوث وتعزيز قاعدة الأدلة لما ينجح. ومع ذلك ، يبدو أن التدخلات التالية تبشر بالخير.

  • تلك التي تستهدف الأفراد إما وجهًا لوجه أو رقميًا ، مثل التدريب على المهارات الاجتماعية ، ودعم الأقران ومجموعات النشاط الاجتماعي ، وخدمات "الصداقة" ، والعلاج السلوكي المعرفي ؛
  • تلك التي تستهدف المجتمعات ، مثل تحسين النقل والبيئة المبنية والإدماج الرقمي ؛ و،
  • تلك التي تستهدف المجتمع الأوسع ، مثل زيادة التماسك الاجتماعي والحد من التهميش. 

يقدم موجز الدعوة ، الذي أصدرته منظمة الصحة العالمية والاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات وهيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة وإدارة الشؤون الاقتصادية والاجتماعية بالأمم المتحدة ، استراتيجية من ثلاث نقاط لمعالجة العزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة خلال عقد الأمم المتحدة للشيخوخة الصحية 2021-2030:

  • إنشاء تحالف عالمي لزيادة الأولوية السياسية للعزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة ؛
  • تحسين البحث وتقوية الأدلة من أجل التدخلات الفعالة ؛ و
  • تنفيذ وتوسيع نطاق التدخلات الفعالة. 

من فضلك اضغط هنا لقراءة الملخص الكامل والمواد الأخرى.

9789240030749-eng

كريستوفر ميكتون
+ المشاركات

An Advocacy Brief from the World Health Organisation: Social isolation and loneliness among older people

0
126
views

By: Christopher Mikton, Technical Officer, the World Health Organisation, Geneva

Launched by WHO on the International Day of Friendship, a new advocacy brief highlights that social isolation and loneliness among older people are widespread globally. The COVID-19 pandemic and the resultant physical distancing measures have exacerbated these conditions. The brief notes that The UN Decade of Healthy Ageing 2021–2030 presents a major opportunity for the World Health Organization (WHO) and other United Nations agencies to address social isolation and loneliness in a more sustained way. Studies suggest that 20-34% of older people in many parts of the world – including China, India, the United States, and Europe – are lonely and that rates in institutions are even higher. Social isolation and loneliness shorten older people’s lives and damage their mental and physical health and quality of life. Physical health consequences include conditions such as cardiovascular disease and stroke and mental health consequences include conditions such as cognitive decline, dementia, depression, anxiety, suicidal ideation, and suicide. In addition, social isolation and loneliness impose a heavy financial burden on societies. 

The evidence base for interventions to reduce social isolation and loneliness among older people is still uneven, with many mixed and inconclusive findings. The advocacy brief identifies seven opportunities for improving data and research and strengthening the evidence base for what works Nonetheless, the following interventions seem to hold promise.

  • those aimed at individuals delivered either face-to-face or digitally, such as social skills training, peer-support and social activity groups, “befriending” services, and cognitive behavioural therapy;
  • those aimed at communities, such as improving transportation, the built environment, and digital inclusion; and,
  • those aimed at wider society, such as increasing social cohesion and reducing marginalization. 

Produced by WHO, International Telecommunication Union, UN Women, and the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the advocacy brief proposes a three-point strategy for addressing social isolation and loneliness during the UN Decade of Healthy Ageing 2021 – 2030:

  • Create a global coalition to increase the political priority of social isolation and loneliness;
  • Improve research and strengthen the evidence for effective interventions; and
  • Implement and scale up effective interventions. 

Please click here to read the full brief and other materials.

9789240030749-eng

Christopher Mikton
+ posts