المؤتمر السنوي الخمسين للجمعية البريطانية لعلم الشيخوخة

0
339
الآراء

تحتفل BSG هذا العام بعيدها 50العاشر مؤتمر سنوي 7-9 يوليو 2021. تمت دعوة الأستاذة شيرين حسين لإلقاء كلمة رئيسية في منظمة الباحثين الناشئة في الشيخوخة (ERA). حدث ما قبل المؤتمر"مستقبل علم الشيخوخة وعلماء الشيخوخة في المستقبل: بناء القدرات القيادية والبحثية لـ BSG 2046؟على 6العاشر يوليو 2021. في كلمتها الرئيسية ، تحدثت الأستاذة حسين عن الفرص والتحديات الناشئة لعلماء الشيخوخة البريطانيين في سياق عالمي. وقدمت حالة من السياق الديناميكي لبحوث الشيخوخة حيث تتفاعل عوامل الشيخوخة والهجرة والتنقل والعوامل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لإنتاج مجموعة متنوعة من الخبرات والتطلعات والاحتياجات للأفراد والمجتمعات.  

يلقي حديثها الضوء على الاختلافات العالمية في الاستجابات السياسية والمتعلقة بالسياسة والممارسة لشيخوخة السكان والآثار المترتبة على رفاهية كبار السن. هناك حاجة كبيرة لعلماء الشيخوخة لفحص مفاهيم وتعريفات الشيخوخة ، بما في ذلك الشيخوخة والشيخوخة الصحية ، مع مناهج متنوعة ومتعددة التخصصات لالتقاط الفروق الدقيقة وأوجه عدم المساواة المضمنة في الأفراد والأعراف والتوقعات المجتمعية. سيساعد إطار الاستدامة الاجتماعية ، بما في ذلك الشيخوخة المستدامة ، في تشكيل أبحاث الشيخوخة في المستقبل. وينبغي أن يشمل هذا الإطار التعلم متعدد الاتجاهات من البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل إلى البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع والعكس صحيح. هذا مفيد بشكل خاص في تشكيل هياكل الرعاية والأهمية المتزايدة لرأس المال الاجتماعي ومجتمعات الرعاية.

حسين- BSG

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

British Society of Gerontology 50th Annual Conference

0
148
views

The BSG celebrates this year its 50th Annual Conference 7-9 July 2021. Professor Shereen Hussein was invited to give a keynote speech at the Emerging Researchers in Ageing (ERA) Pre-Conference EventFutures of gerontology, future gerontologists: Building leadership and research capacity for BSG 2046?’ on the 6th July 2021. In her keynote speech, Professor Hussein spoke of the emergent opportunities and challenges for British gerontologists within a global context. She presented a case of a dynamical context for gerontology research were ageing, migration, mobility and socio-economic factors interact to produce a diverse spectrum of experiences, aspirations and needs for individuals and societies.  

Her talk shed light on global differences in the political, policy and practice responses to population ageing and implications on the wellbeing of older people. There is a great need for gerontologists to examine concepts and definitions of ageing, including ageism and healthy ageing, with diverse and multi-disciplinary approaches to capture the nuances and inequalities embedded within individuals and societal norms and expectations.  A framework of social sustainability, including sustainable ageing, would help shape future gerontological research. Such a framework should embrace multi-directional learning from low- and middle-income countries to high-income countries and vice versa. This is particularly useful in shaping care structures and the increasing importance of social capital and care communities.

SHussein-BSG

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.