الخرف والعافية النفسية لكبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية الرسميين وغير الرسميين

0
350
الآراء

في 22 يوليو 2021 ، أستاذ رئيس شبكة منارة شيرين حسين ساهم في ندوة نظمت بالاشتراك مع مركز الأمراض المزمنة العالمية و ال مركز الصحة النفسية العالمية في مدرسة لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي. ركزت الندوة على حالات الصحة العقلية المزمنة العالمية لعرض الأبحاث الحديثة والمستمرة المتوافقة مع حالات الصحة العقلية المزمنة في سياقات مختلفة. ناقش البروفيسور حسين كيف أن انتشار الأشخاص المصابين بالخرف (PIwD) يتزايد بشكل كبير في جميع أنحاء العالم. في حين أن الخرف لا يؤثر فقط على كبار السن ، فإن معظم الأشخاص المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية هم من كبار السن ويعانون عادة من ظروف واحتياجات رعاية طويلة الأجل أخرى. إن العبء النفسي لهذا المرض على الأشخاص المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ومقدمي الرعاية الرسميين وغير الرسميين لهم هائل ويتفاقم بسبب نقص الوعي المجتمعي والأعراف القائمة مثل وصمة العار والإهمال. في حديثها ، قدمت بإيجاز انتشار الخرف العالمي ، وسلطت الضوء على الفجوات الحالية في معرفتنا. ثم ركزت بعد ذلك على جوانب الرفاهية النفسية للعيش مع أو رعاية شخص مصاب بالخرف. وناقشت دور وتقاطع السياسة والمجتمع والأفراد الفاعلين في تعزيز نوعية حياة الأشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة والمعاقين ومقدمي الرعاية لهم.

SHussein-Joint_CGCCCGMH-Seminar-22 Jul21

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Dementia and the psychological wellbeing of older people and their formal and informal carers

0
110
views

On the 22nd of July 2021, MENARAH’s Network Lead Professor Shereen Hussein contributed to a seminar jointly organised by the Centre for Global Chronic Conditions and the Centre for Global Mental Health at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. The seminar focused on global chronic mental health conditions to showcase recent and ongoing research aligned with chronic mental health conditions in different contexts. Professor Hussein discussed how the prevalence of people living with dementia (PIwD) has been increasing significantly across the globe. While dementia does not affect only older people, most PLwD are older people and usually suffer from other long term care conditions and needs. The psychological burden of this disease on PLwD and their informal and formal caregivers is immense and are exacerbated by a lack of societal awareness and existing norms such as stigma and neglect. In her talk, she briefly introduced the global dementia prevalence, highlighting current gaps in our knowledge. She then focused on the psychological wellbeing aspects of living with or caring for someone who lives with dementia. She discussed the role and intersectionality of policy, society and the individual actors in enhancing the quality of life of PLwD and their carers.

SHussein-Joint_CGCCCGMH-Seminar-22Jul21

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.