الوفيات المرتبطة بتفشي COVID-19 في دور الرعاية: دليل دولي مبكر

0
322
الآراء

لا تتوفر البيانات الرسمية حول أعداد الوفيات بين المقيمين في دور الرعاية المرتبطين بـ COVID-19 في العديد من البلدان ، لكن عددًا متزايدًا من البلدان ينشر البيانات.

المقارنات الدولية صعبة بسبب الاختلافات في اختبار التوفر والسياسات ، والنهج المختلفة لتسجيل الوفيات ، والتعريفات المختلفة لما يشكل "دار الرعاية".

هناك ثلاث مقاربات رئيسية لتحديد عدد الوفيات فيما يتعلق بـ COVID-19: وفيات الأشخاص الذين ثبتت إصابتهم (قبل وفاتهم أو بعدها) ، ووفيات الأشخاص المشتبه في إصابتهم بـ COVID-19 (بناءً على الأعراض أو مرتبطة وبائيًا) ، والوفيات الزائدة (مقارنة العدد الإجمالي للوفيات بتلك التي حدثت في نفس الأسابيع في السنوات السابقة).

هناك تمييز مهم آخر وهو ما إذا كانت البيانات تغطي وفيات المقيمين في دور الرعاية أم فقط الوفيات في دار الرعاية (حيث توجد اختلافات في نسبة المقيمين في دور الرعاية الذين يتم إدخالهم إلى المستشفى وقد يموتون هناك).

يحتوي هذا التقرير المحدث على بيانات من عدد أكبر من البلدان وهذا يوضح ذلك اقتراحات سابقة (عندما كانت البيانات متاحة لعدد أقل من البلدان) أن نسبة جميع وفيات COVID-19 الذين كانوا يقدمون الرعاية - يزداد عدد المقيمين مع إجمالي عدد الوفيات قد لا يكون نتيجة قوية، مثل نيوزيلندا وسلوفينيا ، على الرغم من وجود أعداد صغيرة نسبيًا من إجمالي وفيات COVID ، فقد كان لهما نصيب كبير من تلك الوفيات بين المقيمين في دور الرعاية (72 و 81% على التوالي).

كوماس هيريرا أو Zalakaín J و Litwin C و Hsu AT و Lemmon E و Henderson D و Fernandez-Plotka JL (2020) الوفيات المرتبطة بتفشي COVID-19 في دور الرعاية: دليل دولي مبكرLTCcovid.org، الشبكة الدولية لسياسات الرعاية طويلة الأجل ، CPEC-LSE ، 26 يونيو 2020.

رصيد الصورة: وكالة صور ماكاو- unsplash.com

قيادة مشتركة في تعزيز الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية (STRiDE) | + المشاركات

أستاذ مساعد ، كلية لندن للاقتصاد ، القيادة المشاركة لـ STRiDE-Dementia ، المملكة المتحدة

أديلينا كوماس هيريرا هي القائدة المشاركة لتقوية الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية (خطوة) ، وهو مشروع بحثي متعدد الجنسيات ممول من صندوق أبحاث التحديات العالمية التابع لمجالس الأبحاث في المملكة المتحدة والذي يشمل البرازيل والهند وإندونيسيا وجامايكا وكينيا والمكسيك وجنوب إفريقيا. يهدف المشروع إلى بناء القدرات لتوليد البحوث لدعم تطوير استجابات السياسات للخرف. هي أمينة ل LTCcovid.org، وهو موقع ويب لعب دورًا رئيسيًا في توليد وتبادل الأدلة حول تأثيرات COVID-19 على الأشخاص الذين يستخدمون ويوفرون الرعاية طويلة الأجل والتدابير المعتمدة للتخفيف من هذه الآثار.

Mortality associated with COVID-19 outbreaks in care homes: early international evidence

0
345
views

Official data on the numbers of deaths among care home residents linked to COVID-19 is not available in many countries but an increasing number of countries are publishing data.

International comparisons are difficult due to differences in testing availabilities and policies, different approaches to recording deaths, and differing definitions of what constitutes a “care home”.

There are three main approaches to quantifying deaths in relation to COVID-19: deaths of people who test positive (before or after their death), deaths of people suspected to have COVID-19 (based on symptoms or epidemiologically linked), and excess deaths (comparing the total number of deaths with those in the same weeks in previous years).

Another important distinction is whether the data covers deaths of care home residents or only deaths in the care home (as there are variations in the share of care home residents who are admitted to hospital and may die there).

This updated report contains data from a larger number of countries and this shows that earlier suggestions (when data were available for fewer countries) that the share of all COVID-19 deaths who were care- residents increases with the total number of deaths may not be a robust finding, as New Zealand and Slovenia, despite having had relatively small numbers of total COVID deaths, have had a large share of those deaths among care home residents (72 and 81% respectively).

Comas-Herrera A, Zalakaín J, Litwin C, Hsu AT, Lemmon E, Henderson D and Fernandez-Plotka J-L (2020) Mortality associated with COVID-19 outbreaks in care homes: early international evidenceLTCcovid.org, International Long-Term Care Policy Network, CPEC-LSE, 26 June 2020.

Image credit: Macau Photo Agency- unsplash.com

Co-lead at Strengthening Responses to Dementia in Developing Countries (STRiDE) | + posts

Assistant Professor, London School of Economics, Co-lead STRiDE-Dementia, United Kingdom

Adelina Comas-Herrera is co-lead of the Strengthening Responses to Dementia in Developing Countries (STRiDE) project, a multi-national research project funded by the Research Councils UK’s Global Challenges Research Fund involving Brazil, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Mexico, and South Africa. The project aims to build capacity to generate research to support the development of policy responses to dementia. She is the curator of LTCcovid.org, a website that has played a key role in generating and sharing evidence on the impacts of COVID-19 on people who use and provide Long-Term Care and measures adopted to mitigate these impacts.