منشور جديد: سياسات التعرف على المخاطر للقوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل خلال السنة الأولى من جائحة COVID-19: دراسة متعددة البلدان

0
271
الآراء

أدت ترتيبات العمل غير المستقرة التي عانى منها العديد من العاملين في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل إلى إنشاء قوة عاملة "مشتركة" عبر قطاعات الرعاية السكنية والمنزلية والمجتمعية للشيخوخة. تم تحديد هذه القوة العاملة المشتركة كمساهم في انتشار COVID-19 في وقت مبكر من الوباء. أثر جائحة COVID-19 بشكل غير متناسب على السكان والموظفين الذين يعيشون ويعملون في دور الرعاية طويلة الأجل. دور الرعاية طويلة الأجل ، المعروفة باسم دور رعاية المسنين أو دور الرعاية ، هي مرافق تدعم في المقام الأول كبار السن الذين لديهم احتياجات وظيفية واجتماعية وطبية معقدة. بحلول يناير 2021 ، كان المقيمون في الرعاية طويلة الأجل يمثلون نسبة كبيرة من وفيات COVID-19 على مستوى العالم ، مما يشكل 39% من الوفيات في الولايات المتحدة (الولايات المتحدة) ، 59% في كندا ، 34% في المملكة المتحدة (المملكة المتحدة) و 75% في استراليا.

سعى هذا التحليل إلى مراجعة تدابير السياسة التي تستهدف القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل عبر سبع ولايات قضائية عالية الدخل خلال العام الأول لوباء COVID-19. كان التركيز على الدعم المالي الذي تم تقديمه للتعرف على العاملين في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل للمخاطر المتزايدة التي واجهوها ، بما في ذلك (1) المخاطر الصحية التي يشكلها تقديم الرعاية المباشرة أثناء الوباء و (2) المخاطر الاقتصادية المرتبطة بالقيود المفروضة على العمل متعدد المواقع .

مسح بيئي لوثائق السياسة المتاحة للجمهور والبيانات الإخبارية الحكومية المنشورة بين 1 مارس 2020 و 31 مارس 2021 عبر سبع مناطق قضائية عالية الدخل.

في حين كان هناك استخدام محدود للتدابير المالية في الولايات المتحدة لتعويض عمال الرعاية طويلة الأجل عن المخاطر الصحية المتزايدة التي يواجهونها ، فقد تم استخدام هذه التدابير على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء كندا ، وكذلك في ويلز واسكتلندا وأستراليا. علاوة على ذلك ، كان هناك استخدام مماثل للتدابير المالية لحماية العمال من فقدان الدخل في أجزاء من كندا وأستراليا والمملكة المتحدة.

في العام الأول لوباء COVID-19 ، تم تقديم تدابير سياسية على نطاق واسع في كندا وأستراليا تقديراً للمخاطر المتزايدة التي يواجهها عمال الرعاية طويلة الأجل. في المملكة المتحدة ، تم تقديم هذه الإجراءات فقط في ويلز واسكتلندا ، وفي الولايات المتحدة اقتصرت هذه الإجراءات على 11 ولاية فقط خلال العام الأول للوباء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت هناك جهود واسعة النطاق لتقييد العمل متعدد المواقع في كندا والمملكة المتحدة وأستراليا للحد من انتقال الفيروس ، على الرغم من التنفيذ غير المتكافئ لتدابير الحماية الاقتصادية المقابلة لتعويض عمال الرعاية طويلة الأجل عن خسارة الدخل المحتملة. في حين أن هذه التدابير المالية مؤقتة ، فقد سلطت الضوء على القضايا طويلة الأمد المتعلقة بتوفير ودعم العمال الذين يقدمون الرعاية لكبار السن في دور الرعاية طويلة الأجل. تعتمد جميع الولايات القضائية السبعة في هذه الدراسة على القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل التي تتقاضى أجورًا منخفضة ، وغالبًا ما يتم توظيفها بشكل غير مستقر ، وفي بعض الحالات تعتمد على ترتيبات العمل متعددة المواقع ، ومع ذلك فإن تنفيذ التعويضات والدعم كان متفاوتًا. على وجه الخصوص ، كانت هناك فجوات كبيرة في الولايات المتحدة وأجزاء من المملكة المتحدة على الرغم من مستويات الخطر الأعلى بشكل كبير بشكل عام كما تم قياسها من خلال تعداد الحالات على مستوى السكان والوفيات مقارنة بكندا وأستراليا. يجب أن تنظر الدراسات المستقبلية في تقييم تأثير هذه التدابير وفعاليتها في الحد من فقدان الدخل بين موظفي الرعاية طويلة الأجل نتيجة للوباء. 

اقرأ المنشور كاملاً:

ريد ، إيه سي ، مورمان ، إم ، هسو ، إيه ، تورنبيني ، إيه ، فان هوتفن ، سي ، لابيرج ، إم ، لو ، إل إف ، حسين ، س.، ألين ، س. (2022). سياسات التعرف على المخاطر للقوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل خلال السنة الأولى لوباء COVID-19: دراسة متعددة البلدان. مجلة الرعاية طويلة الأمد، (2022) ، 22-39. DOI: http://doi.org/10.31389/jltc.110

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

New Publication: Risk Recognition Policies for the Long-Term Care Workforce during the First Year of the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Multi-Country Study

0
156
views

The precarious work arrangements experienced by many long-term care workers have led to the creation of a “shared” workforce across residential, home, and community ageing care sectors. This shared workforce was identified as a contributor to the spread of COVID-19 early in the pandemic. The COVID-19 pandemic has disproportionately impacted residents and staff living and working in long-term care homes. Long-term care homes, commonly known as nursing homes or care homes, are facilities that primarily support ageing adults with functional, social and complex medical needs. By January 2021, long-term care residents accounted for a large proportion of COVID-19 deaths globally, making up an estimated 39% of deaths in the United States (US), 59% in Canada, 34% in the United Kingdom (UK) and 75% in Australia.

This analysis sought to review policy measures targeting the long-term care workforce across seven high-income jurisdictions during the first year of the COVID-19 pandemic. The focus was on financial supports introduced to recognize long-term care workers for the increased risks they faced, including both (1) health risks posed by direct care provision during the pandemic and (2) economic risks associated with restrictions to multi-site work.

Environmental scan of publicly available policy documents and government news releases published between March 1, 2020, and March 31, 2021, across seven high-income jurisdictions.

While there was limited use of financial measures in the United States to compensate long-term care workers for the increased health risks they faced, these measures were widely used across Canada, as well as in Wales, Scotland, and Australia. Moreover, there was a corresponding use of financial measures to protect workers from income loss in parts of Canada, Australia and the UK.

In the first year of the COVID-19 pandemic, policy measures were widely introduced in Canada and Australia in recognition of the increased risks faced by long-term care workers. In the UK, these were only introduced in Wales and Scotland, and in the US these measures were limited to only 11 states during the first year of the pandemic. In addition, there were widespread efforts taken to restrict multi-site work in Canada, the U.K, and Australia to limit virus transmission, though with the uneven implementation of corresponding economic protection measures to compensate long-term care workers for potential income loss. While these financial measures are temporary, they brought to light long-standing issues related to the supply of and support for workers providing care to older adults in long-term care homes. All seven jurisdictions in this study rely on long-term care workforces that are underpaid, often times precariously employed, and in some circumstances rely on multi-site work arrangements, yet the implementation of compensation and support has been uneven. In particular, there were considerable gaps in the US and parts of the UK in spite of considerably higher levels of risk overall as measured by population-level case counts and mortality than in Canada and Australia. Future studies should consider evaluating the impact of these measures and their effectiveness in reducing income loss among long-term care staff as a result of the pandemic. 

Read the full publication:

Reed, A. C., Murmann, M., Hsu, A., Turnpenny, A., Van Houtven, C., Laberge, M.,Low, L.F., Hussein, S., Allin, S. (2022). Risk Recognition Policies for the Long-Term Care Workforce during the First Year of the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Multi-Country Study. Journal of Long-term Care, (2022), 22–39. DOI: http://doi.org/10.31389/jltc.110

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and its impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.