الشيخوخة في مكانها الصحيح: عدم المساواة في الحياة اللاحقة

0
129
الآراء

في الرابع من كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، قدمت الأستاذة شيرين حسين سلسلة ندوات عبر الإنترنت لمعهد الأمم المتحدة الدولي للشيخوخة عبر الإنترنت.

في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تعني التغييرات في الهياكل الديموغرافية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية أن شرائح كبيرة من المجتمعات تتقدم في السن في جميع أنحاء العالم. تحدث شيخوخة السكان في البلدان التي كانت تتميز في السابق بشباب السكان وحيث سياساتها وأنظمتها ليست مهيأة بشكل جيد لتلبية احتياجات كبار السن. هناك حاجة لخلق نماذج جديدة فعالة في تمكين هذه الشرائح الكبيرة من المجتمع لمواصلة المساهمة في الديناميكيات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية مع ضمان تلبية احتياجات الرعاية لأولئك الذين يحتاجون إلى الدعم. هناك حاجة إلى صياغة سياسة وممارسات منصفة تطمح إلى تحسين نوعية حياة كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية غير الرسميين لهم. علاوة على ذلك ، يؤدي التنقل العالمي والهجرة إلى تقدم مجموعات متنوعة من المهاجرين في السن داخل المجتمعات المضيفة "الجديدة" ، مع توقعات وفرص مختلفة لكبار السن. في هذه الجلسة ، تم استخدام مثال تركيا للنظر في تجارب كبار السن الذين يتقدمون في السن "في المكان". بلد شاب تقليديًا ، حيث هاجر أولئك الذين هاجروا في وقت سابق في سنواتهم إلى المملكة المتحدة وأصبحوا الآن أكبر سناً "في غير مكانهم" على وجه التحديد ، ناقشت هذه الجلسة آثار السياسات والممارسات على الشيخوخة الصحية ضمن مجموعات مختلفة من القيود والفرص.

شاهد الفيديو الكامل للعرض التقديمي

https://www.facebook.com/iniamalta/videos/472093033763229/

حسين 2 ديسمبر 20

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

الأستاذة شيرين حسين أستاذة سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين أبحاثًا مكثفة حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، وعلى الصعيد الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء مباشرة إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Ageing in and out of place: Inequalities at later life

0
241
views

On the 4th of December Professor Shereen Hussein presented at the United Nation’s International Institute on Ageing Webinar Series 2020.

Across the globe, changes in demographic and socio-economic structures mean that large segments of societies are growing older across the world. Population ageing is occurring in countries previously characterised by young populations and where their policy and systems are not well prepared to meet the needs of older people. There is a need for the creation of new models that are effective in enabling these large segments of the society to continue contributing to the economic and social dynamics while ensuring meeting the care needs for those requiring support. There is a need to formulate equitable policy and practice that aspires to enhance the quality of life of older people and their informal carers. Furthermore, global mobility and migration result in diverse groups of migrants growing older within ‘new’ host societies, with different expectations and opportunities for older people. For this session, the example of Turkey was used to consider the experiences of older people growing older ‘in place’. A traditionally young country, where those who had migrated earlier in their years to the UK and are now growing older ‘out of place’. Specifically, this session discussed the policy and practice implications on healthy ageing within various sets of constraints and opportunities.

Watch the full video of the presentation

https://www.facebook.com/iniamalta/videos/472093033763229/

Hussien-2Dec20

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.