شيخوخة السكان والنظم الإيكولوجية للرعاية: تكامل السياسات ، والإحلال ، والانفصال

0
85
الآراء

الشيخوخة العالمية هي ظاهرة خلقت فرصا كبيرة فضلا عن تحديات كبيرة. طول العمر وزيادة السنوات الصحية تولد مجموعة من الفوائد المجتمعية والفردية. ومع ذلك ، لا تُقضي كل سنوات العمر الإضافية بصحة جيدة ، مما يزيد الطلب على النظم البيئية للرعاية التي تشمل خدمات الصحة والرعاية الرسمية وغير الرسمية وآليات الدعم. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن ديناميكيات شيخوخة السكان نفسها تستلزم تغييرات في الهياكل السكانية ، مثل توفر الفئات في سن العمل وكذلك وحدة الأسرة نفسها ، مما يفرض تحديات على توافر وقدرة مختلف الجهات الفاعلة داخل النظم البيئية للرعاية للعب. دورهم في تلبية المطالب المتصاعدة. بالتفكير عالميًا ، فإن التحولات الأسرع في الهياكل القديمة تحدث حاليًا في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل (LMICs).

سيشهد العديد من البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل مثل هذه التحولات في غضون أقل من 20 عامًا مقارنة بأكثر من مائة عام في بعض البلدان الأوروبية مثل فرنسا وإنجلترا. تقدر منظمة الصحة العالمية أنه بحلول عام 2050 ، سيعيش 80 في المائة من كبار السن في العالم في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل ، مما يدعو إلى إعادة تقييم وتطوير سياسات الصحة والرعاية القائمة والجديدة لتشمل آليات الدعم الرسمية / غير الرسمية والفردية / الحكومية. في هذه الندوة ، أقدم لمحة عامة عن الشيخوخة العالمية متبوعة بتفسير لنظم الرعاية البيئية مع استخلاص أمثلة من البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع ودول LMI.

في هذا العرض التقديمي ، يستكشف البروفيسور حسين العلاقة الديناميكية بين مجالات الرعاية الرسمية وغير الرسمية كمكونين تفاعليين حيويين لنظام بيئي شامل. تستند بعض هذه الأدوار إلى التفضيلات المفترضة وتوافر الدعم غير الرسمي وتسترشد بالتحديات المالية وتحديات البنية التحتية ، من بين عوامل أخرى. سأناقش سرديات السياسة المتزايدة في أوروبا حول أهمية الشبكات غير الرسمية مثل "الدعم بين الأجيال" و "مجتمعات الرعاية" والدعم الذاتي الفردي كمكملات وربما بدائل لخدمات LTC الأكثر رسمية.

وهي تقوم ببناء ومقارنة هذه الاهتمامات المتجددة بالدعم الحالي من LTC في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل ، مستخدمة الشرق الأوسط كمثال إقليمي ، والذي يعتمد فقط تقريبًا على آليات الدعم غير الرسمية هذه. يُنظر إلى مجالات الرعاية الرسمية وغير الرسمية هذه من خلال عدسات مختلفة ضمن مشهد السياسة ومع ذلك يمكنها الاتصال أو الانفصال عن أدوارها المفترضة وقدرتها على تحقيق النتائج المرجوة. توجد مثل هذه الأدوار أيضًا في إطار تحويل المسؤوليات عبر الاستبدال والتكامل عبر مختلف الجهات الفاعلة: الدولة والمجتمع والأسرة والفرد. يدافع البروفيسور حسين عن تطوير نهج ديناميكي للنظام الإيكولوجي للرعاية يعترف بعدم المساواة والتحيز بين الجنسين عند تولي أدوار لمختلف الجهات الفاعلة ولكنه يتكيف مع التغيرات عبر مسار الحياة والعوامل الخارجية ، مثل التكنولوجيا والهجرة.

حسين- PHPS ندوة- 21 مايو

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

الأستاذة شيرين حسين أستاذة سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين أبحاثًا مكثفة حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، وعلى الصعيد الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء مباشرة إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Ageing populations and care ecosystems: Policy complementarity, substitution and disconnect

0
84
views

Global ageing is a phenomenon that created considerable opportunities as well as significant challenges. Longevity and increases in healthy years generate a range of societal and individual benefits. However, not all extra years of life are spent in good health, thus placing increased demands on care ecosystems encompassing formal and informal health and care services and support mechanisms. Furthermore, the dynamics of population ageing itself entail changes in the population structures, such as the availability of working-age groups as well as the family unit itself, thus posing challenges to the availability and ability of the different actors within the care ecosystems to play their part in meeting the escalating demands. Thinking globally, the fastest transformations in ageing structures are currently taking place in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs).

Many LMICs will experience such transformations within as little as 20 years compared to over a hundred years in some European countries such as France and England. The World Health Organisation estimates that by 2050, 80 per cent of the world older people will be living in LMICs, calling for an urgent reassessment and development of existing and new health and care policies to encompass formal/informal and individual/state support mechanisms. In this seminar, I provide an overview of global ageing followed by an interpretation of the care ecosystems drawing examples from high-income and LMI countries.

In this presentation, Professor Hussein explores the dynamic relationship between formal and informal care spheres as two vital interactive components of an overall ecosystem. Some of these roles are based on assumed preferences and availability of informal support and are guided by fiscal and infrastructure challenges, among other factors. I will discuss the increased policy narratives in Europe of the importance of informal networks such as ‘intergenerational support’, ‘care communities’, individual self-support as complements, and potentially substitutes to more formal LTC services.

She constructs and compares these remerging interests to current LTC support in LMICs, using the Middle East as a regional example, which relies almost solely on these informal support mechanisms. These spheres of formal and informal care are viewed with different lenses within the policy landscape yet can connect or disconnect from their assumed roles and ability to achieve the desired outcomes. Such roles also exist within a framework of shifting responsibilities across substitution and complementarity across various actors: the state, community, family and the individual. Professor Hussein argues for developing a dynamic care ecosystem approach acknowledging inequalities and gender bias when assuming roles to various actors yet is adaptive to changes across the life course and external factors, such as technology and migration.

SHussein-PHPSeminar-May21

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.