احتياجات رعاية وصحة كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط

0
642
الآراء

هناك أدلة على وجود عبء كبير من الأمراض غير المعدية بين كبار السن في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. علاوة على ذلك ، من المتوقع أن يصل عدد كبار السن المصابين بالأمراض غير المعدية في المنطقة إلى 1.3 مليون في عام 2030 ، أي ما يقرب من 501 طنًا واحدًا أعلى مما كان عليه في عام 2015. ومن المتوقع أيضًا أن تزداد الأمراض الأخرى ، مثل الخرف. ومع ذلك ، هناك دراسات محدودة حول انتشار الخرف في المنطقة تشير إلى المستويات الحالية عند 6% لكبار السن. تسلط بعض الدراسات الضوء على نقص الوعي وقلة تشخيص الخرف في المنطقة. الصحة النفسية في سن الشيخوخة هي أيضًا مصدر قلق متزايد في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، ولكن مرة أخرى ، هناك بيانات محدودة لتحديد نطاقها وتأثيرها الحقيقيين. بالنسبة لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، من المهم بشكل خاص الاعتراف بدور الجنس والتزامات الأبناء على مستوى المرض والعبء الاجتماعي والرعاية بين كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية غير الرسميين.

حسين ، س. (2019) احتياجات رعاية وصحة كبار السن في الشرق الأوسط: منظور السياسة والممارسة ضمن الهياكل السكانية المتغيرة. اجتماع فريق خبراء الأمم المتحدة بشأن قياس شيخوخة السكان.

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Older people’s health and care needs in the Middle East

0
305
views

There is evidence of a significant burden of non-communicable diseases (NCDs) among older people in the MENA region. Furthermore, the number of older people with NCDs in the region is expected to reach 1.3 million in 2030, nearly 50% higher than in 2015. Other morbidities, such as dementia, are also projected to increase. Yet, there are limited studies on the prevalence of dementia in the region indicating current levels at 6% of older people. Some studies highlight lack of awareness and under-diagnosis of dementia in the region. Mental health at old age is also a growing concern across the region but again, there is limited data to establish its true scale and impact. For the MENA region, it is particularly important to recognise the role of gender and filial obligations on the level of disease, social and care burden among older people and their informal carers.

Hussein, S. (2019) Older people’s health and care needs in the Middle East: Policy and practice perspectives within changing population structures. United Nation’s Expert Group Meeting on Measuring Population Ageing.

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.