الشيخوخة ورعاية المسنين في المنطقة العربية

0
609
الآراء

من المتوقع أن يشيخ السكان بسرعة في الدول العربية خلال العقود القليلة القادمة. ومع ذلك ، تشير قاعدة الأدلة الحالية إلى أن العديد من البلدان في المنطقة لا تولي اهتماما لهذه الظاهرة الديموغرافية. وهذا مصدر قلق خاص لأن طول العمر غالبًا ما يكون مصحوبًا بسنوات عديدة من اعتلال الصحة والعجز ، ولا تزال معظم دول المنطقة تعتمد على الأسرة كمصدر أساسي لرعاية المسنين. في حين أنه من المتوقع أن تقدم الأسرة ، وخاصة النساء ، دعمًا متزايدًا لفترة أطول ، إلا أنها تواجه مجموعة من التغييرات الاجتماعية والديموغرافية التي قد تعوق قدرتهم على توفير هذه الرعاية. تركز هذه الورقة على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة في المنطقة العربية وتعكس الأدوار المتعددة للمرأة من خلال استخدام التحليل الكمي للسكان الدوليين والمؤشرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وكذلك مراجعة الأدبيات الأساسية وسياسات الشيخوخة الحالية في المنطقة. ثم تناقش الورقة الاستراتيجيات الممكنة لمعالجة الاحتياجات المتزايدة للرعاية طويلة الأجل من خلال منظور رأس المال الاجتماعي ، حيث يتم التأكيد على دعم مقدمي الرعاية غير الرسميين ، وخاصة النساء.

حسينو S. و اسماعيل، M. (2016) الشيخوخة ورعاية المسنين في المنطقة العربية: تحديات وفرص السياسات. شيخوخة الدولية. 42 (3): 274-289.

رصيد الصورة: عزيز الشرقي ، unsplash.com

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

+ المشاركات

مدير الأبحاث التحليلية المحدودة ، وزميل أبحاث منتسب ، معهد أكسفورد لشيخوخة السكان ، جامعة أكسفورد ، المملكة المتحدة

محمد متدرب في الهندسة (منج - جامعة القاهرة) ، وعلوم الكمبيوتر (ماجستير - جامعة القاهرة) والتمويل الرياضي (ماجستير - كلية إدارة الأعمال ، جامعة لندن). بدأ محمد حياته المهنية في مدينة لندن في التسعينيات ، حيث عمل كمحلل كمي لمنظمات مالية عالمية رائدة ، مثل ميريل لينش ، وإتش إس بي سي ، وميزوهو ، وكريدي سويس ، قبل أن يبدأ في تحويل تركيزه إلى البحث الاجتماعي الكمي. منذ عام 2009 ، عمل كباحث مستقل في مجال العلوم الاجتماعية بدافع خاص للاستفادة من تقنيات النمذجة الإحصائية والرياضية المختلفة لتحليل مجموعات البيانات الكبيرة والمتعددة.

عمل مع جامعات في المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا وأستراليا والشرق الأوسط. نشر عدد من المقالات التي راجعها النظراء. كما تمت دعوته لإلقاء محاضرات وعروض تقديمية في العديد من الجامعات والمنظمات الرائدة. تركز اهتماماته البحثية الحالية على استكشاف الدور المحتمل للأنظمة الديناميكية الرياضية في مجال شيخوخة السكان عبر الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية. محمد هو مدير الأبحاث التحليلية المحدودة وإحدى الشركات التابعة في معهد أكسفورد لشيخوخة السكان، جامعة أكسفورد.

Ageing and Elderly Care in the Arab Region

0
107
views

Populations are expected to age rapidly in the Arab countries during the coming few decades. However, the current evidence base indicates that many countries in the region are not paying attention to this demographic phenomenon. This is a particular concern as longevity is often accompanied by many years of ill health and disability and most of the countries in the region continue to rely on the family as the primary source of elder care. While the family, and particularly women, are expected to provide increasing support for longer, they are faced by a set of socio-demographic changes that may hinder their ability to provide such care. This paper focuses on the ageing demographics in the Arab region and reflects on the multiple-roles for women by utilising quantitative analysis of international population and socio-economic indicators as well as reviewing the background literature and current ageing policies in the region. The paper then discusses possible strategies to address increasing long-term care needs through a social capital lens, where support to informal carers particularly women is emphasised.

Hussein, S. and Ismail, M. (2016) Ageing and Elderly Care in the Arab Region: Policy Challenges and Opportunities. Ageing International. 42(3): 274-289.

Image credit: Aziz Acharki, unsplash.com

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.

+ posts

Director of Analytical Research Ltd, and Affiliate Research Fellow, Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Mohamed is trained in engineering (MEng – Cairo University), computer science (MSc – Cairo University) and mathematical finance (MSc – CASS Business School, University of London). Mohamed started his career in in the City of London in 1990s, working as a quantitative analyst for leading global financial organisations, such as Merrill Lynch, HSBC, Mizuho and Credit Suisse, before he began to shift his focus onto quantitative social research. Since 2009, he has worked as an independent researcher in the field of social sciences with a particular drive to make use of different statistical and mathematical modelling techniques for the analysis of large and multi-dispersed data sets.

He has worked with universities in the UK, Europe, Australia and the Middle East; publishing a number of peer-reviewed articles. He has also been invited to give talks and presentations at several leading universities and organisations. His current research interests focus on exploring the potential role of mathematical dynamical systems in the field of population ageing across health and social care. Mohamed is the Director of Analytical Research ltd and an affiliate at the Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, University of Oxford.