سياسة الشيخوخة في مالطا: القضايا والسياسات والاتجاهات المستقبلية.

0
484
الآراء

مالطا ليست استثناء من التغيرات الديموغرافية غير المسبوقة التي تشهدها البلدان الصناعية. نتيجة لانخفاض معدلات الخصوبة والوفيات ، سجلت مالطة انخفاضًا في معدلات الخصوبة وتحسنًا كبيرًا في متوسط العمر المتوقع عند الولادة. شهدت الأشهر الأخيرة مجموعة من الجوانب الفضية في سياسة الشيخوخة المالطية المعاصرة. في مارس 2013 ، أحاطت الحكومة المنتخبة حديثًا علما بالقضايا المتنوعة التي تواجه شيخوخة السكان المالطيين من خلال وضع المسؤولية عن سياسة الشيخوخة تحت `` الأمانة البرلمانية لحقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة والشيخوخة النشطة '' (سابقًا `` الأمانة البرلمانية للمسنين والمجتمع) رعاية'). إن حقيقة انتقال الأمانة العامة أيضًا من "وزارة الصحة والمسنين والرعاية المجتمعية" إلى "وزارة الأسرة والتضامن الاجتماعي" تحدثت كثيرًا عن الاتجاه الجديد الذي تتخذه سياسة الشيخوخة في مالطا - أي: التحول من التركيز طويل الأمد على "رعاية المسنين" إلى قضايا "المواطنة النشطة". تعرض هذه الورقة التطورات الحالية في السياسة العامة المالطية المتعلقة بالشيخوخة. بالنظر إلى الأعداد المتزايدة والضعف النسبي لهذه المجموعة ، لا يكاد يكون هناك أي "برنامج" سياسة في حاجة أكبر للتفتيش الشامل. يتضمن تسعة أقسام قصيرة. بعد هذه المقدمة الموجزة ، يسلط القسم التالي الضوء على السياق الديموغرافي. يناقش القسمان الثالث والرابع السياسة المتعلقة بالشيخوخة المنتجة والنشطة على التوالي. يقدم القسم الخامس مراجعة موجزة لسياسات الشيخوخة الصحية. الأقسام الثلاثة التالية خدمات مجتمعية وطويلة الأجل لكبار السن في مالطة ، وكذلك داخل الدولة في وضع التشريعات التي تحمي كبار السن من إساءة معاملة كبار السن. يختتم القسم الخامس الورقة عن طريق إعادة توجيه المقترحات لمستقبل سياسة الشيخوخة في مالطا.

فورموزا، م (2015). سياسة الشيخوخة في مالطا: القضايا والسياسات والاتجاهات المستقبلية. مالطا: Book Distributors Limited.

+ المشاركات

مدير معهد الأمم المتحدة الدولي للشيخوخة ، مالطا

مارفن فورموزا دكتوراه هو أستاذ مشارك ورئيس قسم علم الشيخوخة ودراسات الخرف، كلية الرفاهية الاجتماعية ، جامعة مالطا. وهو يشغل مناصب رئيس اللجنة الوطنية للشيخوخة النشطة (مالطا) ، ومندوب رئيس الجامعة لجامعة العمر الثالث (مالطا) ، ومدير المعهد الدولي للشيخوخة التابع للأمم المتحدة - مالطا (INIA). نشر البروفيسور فورموزا على نطاق واسع في مجال دراسات الشيخوخة ، وتضمنت المنشورات الحديثة الشيخوخة النشطة والصحية: استفسارات الشيخوخة والشيخوخة (2018) ، وجامعة العمر الثالث والشيخوخة النشطة: وجهات نظر أوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ (2019).

وهو رئيس الفريق القطري (مالطا) لمسح الصحة والشيخوخة والتقاعد في أوروبا (SHARE) ، ورئيس تحرير المجلة الدولية حول الشيخوخة في البلدان النامية ، وتشمل اهتماماته الأكاديمية تعلم الكبار ، جامعات العصر الثالث ، ديناميكيات الطبقة الاجتماعية ، علم الشيخوخة النسوي ، وعلم الشيخوخة النقدي.

Ageing policy in Malta: Issues, policies and future trends.

0
295
views

Malta is no exception to the unprecedented demographic changes that are being experienced by industrial countries. As a result of declining fertility and mortality levels, Malta registered a decrease in fertility rates and a major improvement of life expectancy at birth. Recent months witnessed a range of silver linings in contemporary Maltese ageing policy. In March 2013 the newly elected Government took note of the diverse issues facing the ageing of Maltese population by positioning the responsibility for ageing policy under a ‘Parliamentary Secretariat for Rights of Persons with Disability and Active Ageing’ (previously ‘Parliamentary Secretariat for Elderly and Community Care’). Th e fact that the Secretariat also migrated from the ‘Ministry of Health, the Elderly, and Community Care’ to the ‘Ministry for the Family and Social Solidarity’ spoke volumes about the novel direction that ageing policy is taking in Malta – namely, a shift from the long-held focus on ‘elderly care’ to ‘active citizenship’ issues. This paper presents current developments in Maltese public policy related to ageing. Given the increasing numbers and relative vulnerability of this group, there is hardly any policy ‘programme’ in greater need of thorough inspection. It includes nine short sections. Following this brief introduction, the subsequent section highlights the demographic context. Th e third and fourth sections discusses policy concerning productive and active ageing respectively. Th e fi ft h section submits a short review of health ageing policies. Th e next three sections community and long-term services for older persons in Malta, as well as the nation’s in-roads in establishing legislation that safeguards older persons from elder abuse. Th e fi nal section brings the paper to a close by forwarding proposals for the future of ageing policy in Malta.

Formosa, M. (2015). Ageing policy in Malta: Issues, policies and future trends. Malta: Book Distributors Limited.

+ posts

Director of the United Nations International Institute on Ageing, Malta

Marvin Formosa PhD is Associate Professor and Head of the Department of Gerontology and Dementia Studies, Faculty for Social Wellbeing, University of Malta. He holds the posts of Chairperson of the National Commission for Active Ageing (Malta), Rector’s Delegate for the University of the Third Age (Malta), and Director of the International Institute on Ageing United Nations – Malta (INIA). Prof. Formosa published widely in the field of ageing studies, and recent publications included Active and healthy ageing: Gerontological and geriatric inquiries (2018), and The University of the Third Age and active ageing: European and Asian-Pacific perspectives (2019).

He is Country Team Leader (Malta) of the Survey of Health, Ageing, and Retirement in Europe (SHARE), sits as Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal on Ageing in Developing Countries, and his academic interests include older adult learning, Universities of the Third Age, social class dynamics, feminist gerontology, and critical gerontology.