أكملت الأستاذة شيرين حسين مؤخرًا برنامج RfPB مشروع ممول يركز على تطوير مقياس لجودة الحياة المتعلقة بأعمال الرعاية. استمر المشروع من سبتمبر 2019 إلى ديسمبر 2021 ، بقيادة الأستاذ حسين ، بالتعاون بين كلية لندن للصحة وطب المناطق الحارة وجامعة كنت.

يتسم عمل الرعاية طويلة الأجل (LTC) بظروف عمل غير مواتية ، بما في ذلك الأجور السيئة ، والعقود غير الآمنة وترتيبات العمل المجزأة بشكل متزايد. يترك عدد كبير من العمال وظائفهم كل عام ، ومستويات التوتر والإرهاق مقلقة. في حين أن بعض المقاييس تقيس الرفاهية في العمل ، فإنها لا تدرس تأثير أعمال الرعاية على نوعية حياة العمال ، والتي تبدو حاسمة لرفاهية العمال وتحفيزهم. 

يصف LTC مجموعة من الأنشطة لدعم الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى رعاية شخصية واجتماعية بما في ذلك كبار السن والبالغين الذين يعانون من إعاقات. تشمل أدوار LTC العمل الاجتماعي والرعاية الشخصية والدعم العملي للبالغين الذين يعانون من إعاقة جسدية أو إعاقة في التعلم أو مرض جسدي أو عقلي ، بالإضافة إلى دعم حياتهم المهنية. كان القطاع يواجه العديد من التحديات طويلة الأمد ، والتي تفاقمت خلال جائحة COVID-19. وتشمل هذه التحديات الوصول المحدود إلى الخدمات الممولة من القطاع العام ، وسوق الرعاية المجزأة ، والاتجاهات الديموغرافية المتزايدة للطلبات ، وعدم القدرة على جذب والاحتفاظ بعدد كاف من العاملين في مجال الرعاية.

تسلط مجموعة من الأدبيات الضوء على الطبيعة العاطفية لعمل الرعاية الاجتماعية مع الآثار المحتملة على نوعية حياة العمال. بشكل عام ، تم الاعتراف بنوعية حياة الموظفين في العمل في الدراسات التنظيمية كمؤثر رئيسي على صحة الأفراد وأداء العمل والأداء التنظيمي. بالنسبة لموظفي الرعاية ، يُنظر إلى رفاهيتهم على أنها مرتبطة بشكل أكبر بتقديم الرعاية وجودتها. يتعرض موظفو الرعاية الاجتماعية بشكل خاص لمستويات منخفضة من جودة الحياة (QoL) في العمل ، بسبب طبيعة العمل وكذلك العوامل الظرفية مثل ظروف العمل غير المواتية. إن عمل الرعاية مرهق عاطفياً ويرتبط بالإجهاد العاطفي والجسدي والإرهاق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن كيفية تنظيم الرعاية الاجتماعية وتقديمها بشكل عام تشمل زيادة تشتت العمل والأجور المنخفضة باستمرار. تم ربط QoL في العمل أيضًا في الأدبيات كأحد العوامل التي تساهم في ارتفاع معدل دوران قطاع الرعاية الاجتماعية ومعدلات الشغور.

QoL في العمل ، كمفهوم ، تم استكشافه على نطاق واسع في علم النفس التنظيمي وأدب الإدارة. وهي تتألف من عناصر مختلفة مثل المكونات العاطفية والسلوكية والمعرفية ، وتشمل المشاعر الإيجابية والسلبية والكفاءة والأداء التكاملي والاستقلالية. هناك العديد من المقاييس التي تم تطويرها لقياس هذه المكونات ، مع إيلاء اهتمام خاص في أدبيات علم النفس التنظيمي لجودة الحياة "العاطفية" في العمل. على الرغم من هذه التطورات والمحاولات لقياس جودة الحياة في العمل ، هناك نقص في المقاييس التي تم التحقق من صحتها وقابلة للتطبيق وحساسة لقياس جودة الحياة المتعلقة بأعمال الرعاية (CWRQoL). من شأن هذا الإجراء أن يعترف بالجانب المشترك لعمل الرعاية مع القطاعات الأخرى بالإضافة إلى الطبيعة المحددة للرعاية الاجتماعية ، مثل الوقت اللازم لبناء العلاقات. تعود هذه الفجوة في المعرفة إلى عدة عوامل ولكن الأهم من بينها الطبيعة المعقدة لأعمال الرعاية نفسها. يتطلب هذا مقياسًا شاملاً يلتقط كلاً من إيجابيات وسلبيات أعمال الرعاية مع البالغين وكبار السن ضمن ترتيبات وهياكل تنظيمية وتنفيذية محددة. 

أهداف

الهدف من البحث هو البدء في تطوير مقياس جودة الحياة المرتبط بالعمل والمخصص لطبيعة وسياق الرعاية الاجتماعية للبالغين. لتطوير هذه الأداة الجديدة ، تتمثل المرحلة الأولى والتركيز في هذا المشروع في تحديد بنيات مقياس مقياس لجودة الحياة المرتبطة بعمل الرعاية والتي لها صلة بالموظفين العاملين في الرعاية طويلة الأجل.

أهداف هذا البحث هي:

RQ1. وضع إطار عمل مفاهيمي للمقياس من خلال عملية استنتاجية - مراجعة وتقييم الرفاهية الحالية في جداول العمل - وعملية استقرائية من خلال البيانات الأولية التي تم جمعها من العاملين في مجال الرعاية والمديرين ومستخدمي الرعاية وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين. 

RQ2. تحديد المجالات والعناصر الأساسية اللازمة لإنشاء أداة جودة الحياة المتعلقة بعمل الرعاية والمخصصة للقوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الاجتماعية للبالغين في إنجلترا والتحقق من صحتها.

RQ3. تحديد آليات الدعم المحتملة "في العمل" التي من المحتمل أن تحسن رفاهية موظفي الرعاية.

RQ4: التحقيق في الفوائد والتحديات في استخدام المقياس في الممارسة.

أساليب

اعتمد المشروع البحثي نهج متعدد الأساليب ، باستخدام المنهج الاستنباطي والاستقرائي ، مع الأنشطة التالية: 

1. مراجعة منهجية للدراسات المنشورة ومقاييس التقييم لرفاهية موظفي الرعاية (بالاعتماد على مقاييس جودة الحياة الرسمية والعائلية) وآليات الدعم التنظيمي لتعزيز الرفاهية في العمل. 

2. المقابلات (العدد = 16) ، ومجموعات التركيز (3 مجموعات مع عدد = 11 مشاركًا) والاستجابات المكتوبة (ن = 2) التي تجمع آراء العاملين في مجال الرعاية في الخطوط الأمامية (العدد = 10) ، والمديرين (العدد = 7) والمجموعات الاجتماعية الرئيسية أصحاب المصلحة في الرعاية وصناع السياسات (عدد = 12) واستكشاف فائدة مقياس جودة الحياة المرتبط بأعمال الرعاية. 

3. استطلاع عبر الإنترنت (ن = 35) لاستكشاف صلاحية محتوى المجالات والعناصر المقترحة والتوصل إلى توافق في الآراء بشأن ما سيكون مهمًا لتضمينه. 

الموجودات

من خلال المراحل التكرارية في هذه الدراسة ، حددنا المجالات والعناصر التي لها أهمية للمشاركين في فهم مفهوم CWRQoL. تختلف مجالات CWRQoL والمجالات الفرعية والعناصر الخاصة بها ، من تلك الملموسة والموضوعية (مثل خصائص صاحب العمل) إلى التجارب المجردة والذاتية (مثل الرفاهية العاطفية). من خلال تأثيرها وتفاعلاتها ، تصوغ هذه المجالات CWRQoL لعمال الرعاية. بالاعتماد على نتائج هذه الدراسة ، نقترح روابط نظرية توحد مجالات CWRQoL لعمال الرعاية ضمن بنية ديناميكية ؛ وهذا يختلف باختلاف الوقت والخبرة:

في وقت معين ، تتوافق جودة الحياة المتعلقة بعمل العامل في مجال الرعاية مع خبراتهم في مهام العمل والتفاعلات ، التي يتم تحديدها ومكافأتها ضمن سياق التوظيف الذي تتأثر فيه المكونات العاطفية والجسدية والاجتماعية والمالية للرفاهية في حياة العمل والحياة خارج نطاق العمل ، وربما تشكل مشاركتهم بعناية.

يدمج هذا التعريف جوانب ملموسة من العمل مع الاعتراف بذاتية البناء الكلي والعلاقة التي لا تنفصم بين الرفاهية في العمل والرفاهية خارج العمل والتأثير المحتمل على العمل نفسه. لديه القدرة على التمييز بين الأفراد في نفس سياق العمل وأداء الأدوار الوظيفية ذات الصلة. نتوسع في هذا التعريف من خلال نموذج نظري تم إنشاؤه من خلال تحليل النتائج عبر مراحل الدراسة الثلاث. تبدأ المسارات الافتراضية بالتوظيف الملموس وعوامل الوظيفة الفردية ، والتي ترتبط بالعوامل الشخصية لكيفية تجربة عامل الرعاية مع العمل والتأثيرات التي قد تترتب عليه ، مع ما يترتب على ذلك من عواقب على جودة الحياة في العمل ، مما يؤثر بدوره على الرفاهية في حياتهم غير العملية. هذه المسارات لا تفترض علاقات إيجابية أو سلبية ؛ بدلاً من ذلك ، لديهم القدرة على الاختلاف بين الأفراد وداخل تجارب الأفراد. علاوة على ذلك ، حددنا مجالين آخرين للرفاهية تمت مناقشتهما بإيجاز من قبل المشاركين ولكن قد يكون لهما آثار أخرى: الرفاهية الاجتماعية والبيئية.

يمكن استخدام المقاييس الحالية لالتقاط بعض المجالات المتعلقة بـ "منظمة عمل الرعاية". ومع ذلك ، يجب تطوير الأسئلة المصممة خصيصًا للوقوف على الطبيعة المحددة لعمل الرعاية وكيف يتم التعرف على الرعاية (أو تصورها). علاوة على ذلك ، يبدو أن مظهر العوامل الثلاثة العامة على نوعية حياة العمال في العمل خاص بسياق أعمال الرعاية.

النواتج

حسين ، س. ، تاورز ، آم. ، بالمر ، س. ، بروكس ، إن ، سيلاروفا ، ب ، ماكيلا ، ص (2022). تطوير مقياس جودة الحياة المرتبطة بعمل الرعاية (CWRQoL) للعاملين في مجال الرعاية طويلة الأجل في إنجلترا. المجلة الدولية لأبحاث البيئة والصحة العامة. 19(2): 945. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph19020945

Silarova ، B. ، Brookes ، N. ، Palmer ، S. ، Towers ، A.-M. ، & Hussein ، S. (2022). فهم وقياس جودة الحياة المتعلقة بالعمل بين أولئك الذين يعملون في الرعاية الاجتماعية للبالغين: مراجعة نطاق. الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في المجتمع، 00 ، 1-28. https://doi.org/10.1111/hsc.13718

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Professor Shereen Hussein recently completed an RfPB funded project focused on developing a scale of care work-related quality of life. The project ran from September 2019 to December 2021, led by Professor Hussein, collaborating between the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and the University of Kent.

Long-term care (LTC) work is characterised by unfavourable working conditions, including poor wages, insecure contracts and increasingly fragmented working arrangements. A significant number of workers leave their jobs every year, and levels of stress and burnout are concerning. While some scales measure well-being at work, they do not examine the impact of care work on workers’ own quality of life, which seems critical to workers’ well-being and motivation. 

LTC describes a range of activities to support people who need personal and social care including older people and adults living with disabilities. LTC roles include social work, personal care and practical support for adults with a physical disability, a learning disability, or physical or mental illness, as well as support for their careers. The sector has been experiencing many long-standing challenges, which have been exacerbated during the COVID-19 pandemic. These challenges include limited access to publicly funded services, a fragmented care market, demographic trends increasing demands and the inability to attract and retain a sufficient supply of care workers.

A body of literature highlights the emotional nature of social care work with potential implications on the quality of life of workers. More generally, staff quality of life at work has been recognised in organisational studies as a key influencer on individuals’ health and work performance and organisational functioning. For care staff, their wellbeing is perceived to be further associated with the delivery and quality of care. Social care staff are particularly vulnerable to low levels of quality of life (QoL) at work, due to both the nature of the work as well as situational factors such as unfavourable working conditions. Care work is emotionally taxing and is linked to both emotional and physical stress and burnout. Additionally, how social care is generally structured and delivered includes increased fragmentation of work and persistently low wages. QoL at work is also linked in the literature as one of the factors that contribute to the social care sector’s high turnover and vacancy rates.

QoL at work, as a concept, has been extensively explored in the organisational psychology and management literature. It comprises various elements such as affective, behavioural and cognitive components, and includes positive and negative emotion, competence, integrative functioning and autonomy. There are various scales developed to measure these components, with particular attention in the organisational psychology literature to the ‘affective’ QoL at work. Despite these developments and attempts to measure QoL at work, there is a lack of validated, applicable, and sensitive scales to measure care work-related quality of life (CWRQoL). Such measure would recognise the common aspect of care work with other sectors as well as the specific nature of social care, such as the time needed to build relations. This gap in knowledge is due to several factors but paramount among them is the complex nature of care work itself. This requires a holistic scale that captures both the positives and the negatives of care work with adults and older people within specific organisational and delivery arrangements and structures. 

Aims

The aim of the research is to begin the development of a work-related quality of life scale that is specific to the nature and context of adult social care. To develop this new tool, the first stage and the focus of this project, is to determine the constructs of a scale measure of care work-related quality of life that are relevant to staff working in long-term care.

The objectives of this research are:

RQ1. Develop a conceptual framework for the scale through a deductive process – review and appraising current wellbeing at work scales – and an inductive process through primary data collected from care workers, managers, care users and other stakeholders. 

RQ2. Identify and content validate key domains and items necessary to construct a care work-related quality of life tool that is specific to the adult social care workforce in England.

RQ3. Identify potential ‘at work’ supporting mechanisms that are likely to improve care staff wellbeing.

RQ4: Investigate the benefits and challenges in the use of the scale in practice.

Methods

The research project adopted a multi-method approach, using deductive and inductive approaches, with the following activities: 

1. A systematic review of published studies and assessment scales of care staff wellbeing (drawing on formal and family carer quality of life measures) and organisational support mechanisms to enhance wellbeing at work. 

2. Interviews (n=16), focus groups (3 groups with n=11 participants) and written responses (n=2) gathering the views of frontline care workers (n=10), managers (n=7) and key social care stakeholders and policymakers (n=12) and explore the utility of a care work-related quality of life scale. 

3. An online survey (n=35) to explore the content validity of the proposed domains and items and reach a consensus on what would be important to include. 

Findings

Through the iterative stages in this study, we have identified domains, and items, that hold significance for participants in making sense of the concept CWRQoL. The domains of CWRQoL and their contained sub-domains and items vary, from those that are concrete and objective (such as employer characteristics) to abstract, subjective experiences (such as emotional wellbeing). Through their own effect and interactions, these domains formulate care workers’ CWRQoL. Drawing on findings from this study, we propose theoretical links that unite the domains of care workers’ CWRQoL within a dynamic construct; that is, one which varies with vary with time and experience:

At a particular time, a care worker’s work-related quality of life corresponds to their experiences of work tasks and interactions, determined by and rewarded within an employment context in which interacting emotional, physical, social and financial components of wellbeing are impacted in work life and non-work life, and potentially shape their engagement with care.

This definition integrates concrete aspects of the work while acknowledging the subjectivity of the overall construct and the inseparable relationship between wellbeing at work, wellbeing outside work, and possible impact on the work itself. It has the potential to distinguish between individuals within the same employment context and performing related job roles. We expand on this definition through a theoretical model constructed through an analysis of findings across the three study stages. The hypothetical paths commence with concrete employment and individual job factors, which are in a relationship with subjective factors of how the care worker experiences the work and the impacts it might have on them, with consequences for their QoL at work, in turn impacting on wellbeing in their non-work life. These paths do not assume positive or negative relationships; instead, they have the potential to vary between individuals and within individuals’ experiences. Furthermore, we identified two more areas of wellbeing that have been briefly discussed by the participants but might have further implications: social and environmental wellbeing.

Existing scales might be used to capture some of the domains related to the ‘care work organisation. However, tailored questions need to be developed to capture the specific nature of care work and how care is (or perceived to be) recognised. Furthermore, the manifestation of the three broad factors on workers’ quality of life at work appears to be specific to the context of care work.

Outputs

Hussein, S., Towers, A-M., Palmer, S., Brookes, N., Silarova, B., Mäkelä, P. (2022). Developing a Scale of Care Work-Related Quality of Life (CWRQoL) for Long-Term Care Workers in England. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. 19(2): 945. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph19020945

Silarova, B.,  Brookes, N.,  Palmer, S.,  Towers, A.-M., &  Hussein, S. (2022).  Understanding and measuring the work-related quality of life among those working in adult social care: A scoping review. Health & Social Care in the Community,  00,  1– 28. https://doi.org/10.1111/hsc.13718

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and its impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.