العرق في العمل

0
677
الآراء

الغرض - الهدف من هذه الورقة هو استكشاف تأثير العرق وفصل ذلك عن الديناميكيات الأخرى المرتبطة بالهجرة بين أفراد القوى العاملة للرعاية طويلة الأجل في إنجلترا مع التركيز على طبيعة وهيكل وظائفهم. يفحص التحليل التفاعلات بين العرق والجنس والعمر وعلاقاتهم مع العوامل "المتوسطة" المتعلقة بالوظيفة والخصائص التنظيمية وعوامل المستوى "الكلي" المتعلقة بخصائص المنطقة المحلية. التصميم / المنهجية / النهج - تحلل الورقة بيانات القوى العاملة الوطنية الجديدة ، مجموعة البيانات الوطنية الدنيا للرعاية الاجتماعية (NMDS-SC) ، n = 357،869. تستخدم الورقة التحليل الإحصائي الوصفي ومجموعة من نماذج الانحدار اللوجستي.

النتائج - تشير النتائج إلى أن المشاركة العمالية لمجموعات السود والأقليات العرقية البريطانية (BME) في أعمال الرعاية طويلة الأجل أقل بكثير مما كان يعتقد سابقًا. هناك اختلافات في طبيعة العمل وربما الأمن الوظيفي حسب العرق.


قيود / آثار البحث - في حين أن العينة الوطنية كبيرة ، لم يتم جمع البيانات عن قصد لفحص الفروق في أسباب العمل في قطاع الرعاية حسب العرق المختلف.

الآثار العملية - يسلط التحليل الضوء على إمكانية الترويج الفعال لعمل الرعاية الاجتماعية بين مجموعات BME البريطانية لمواجهة النقص في القوى العاملة ، خاصة في وقت تقيد فيه سياسات الهجرة توظيف مواطني المنطقة الاقتصادية غير الأوروبية. 

الأصالة / القيمة - يوفر التحليل نظرة ثاقبة فريدة لمشاركة عمال BME البريطانيين في قطاع الرعاية طويلة الأجل ، منفصلة عن مشاركة العمال المهاجرين.

حسين ، س.، مانثورب ، ج إسماعيل ، م. (2014) العرق في العمل: حالة العاملين من الأقليات البريطانية في قطاع الرعاية طويلة الأجل. المساواة والتنوع والشمول: مجلة دولية. 33 (2): 177-192.

رصيد الصورة: Siora Photography - unsplash.com

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

+ المشاركات

مدير الأبحاث التحليلية المحدودة ، وزميل أبحاث منتسب ، معهد أكسفورد لشيخوخة السكان ، جامعة أكسفورد ، المملكة المتحدة

محمد متدرب في الهندسة (منج - جامعة القاهرة) ، وعلوم الكمبيوتر (ماجستير - جامعة القاهرة) والتمويل الرياضي (ماجستير - كلية إدارة الأعمال ، جامعة لندن). بدأ محمد حياته المهنية في مدينة لندن في التسعينيات ، حيث عمل كمحلل كمي لمنظمات مالية عالمية رائدة ، مثل ميريل لينش ، وإتش إس بي سي ، وميزوهو ، وكريدي سويس ، قبل أن يبدأ في تحويل تركيزه إلى البحث الاجتماعي الكمي. منذ عام 2009 ، عمل كباحث مستقل في مجال العلوم الاجتماعية بدافع خاص للاستفادة من تقنيات النمذجة الإحصائية والرياضية المختلفة لتحليل مجموعات البيانات الكبيرة والمتعددة.

عمل مع جامعات في المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا وأستراليا والشرق الأوسط. نشر عدد من المقالات التي راجعها النظراء. كما تمت دعوته لإلقاء محاضرات وعروض تقديمية في العديد من الجامعات والمنظمات الرائدة. تركز اهتماماته البحثية الحالية على استكشاف الدور المحتمل للأنظمة الديناميكية الرياضية في مجال شيخوخة السكان عبر الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية. محمد هو مدير الأبحاث التحليلية المحدودة وإحدى الشركات التابعة في معهد أكسفورد لشيخوخة السكان، جامعة أكسفورد.

Ethnicity at work

0
295
views

Purpose – The aim of this paper is to explore the effect of ethnicity and separate this from the other dynamics associated with migration among members of the long-term care workforce in England focusing on the nature and structure of their jobs. The analysis examines interactions between ethnicity, gender, and age, and their relations with “meso” factors related to the job and organizational characteristics and “macro” level factors related to local area characteristics. Design/methodology/approach – The paper analyses new national workforce data, the National Minimum Data Set for Social Care (NMDS-SC), n=357,869. The paper employs descriptive statistical analysis and a set of logistic regression models.

Findings – The results indicate that labour participation of British black and minority ethnic (BME) groups in long-term care work is much lower than previously believed. There are variations in the nature of work and possibly job security by ethnicity.


Research limitations/implications – While the national sample is large, the data were not purposively collected to examine differentials in reasons to work in the care sector by different ethnicity.

Practical implications – The analysis highlights the potential to actively promote social care work among British BME groups to meet workforce shortages, especially at a time where immigration policies are restricting the recruitment of non-European Economic Area nationals. 

Originality/value – The analysis provides a unique insight into the participation of British BME workers in the long-term care sector, separate from that of migrant workers.

Hussein, S., Manthorpe, J. and Ismail, M. (2014) Ethnicity at work: the case of British minority workers in the long-term care sector. Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: An International Journal. 33 (2): 177-192.

Image credit: Siora Photography – unsplash.com

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.

+ posts

Director of Analytical Research Ltd, and Affiliate Research Fellow, Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Mohamed is trained in engineering (MEng – Cairo University), computer science (MSc – Cairo University) and mathematical finance (MSc – CASS Business School, University of London). Mohamed started his career in in the City of London in 1990s, working as a quantitative analyst for leading global financial organisations, such as Merrill Lynch, HSBC, Mizuho and Credit Suisse, before he began to shift his focus onto quantitative social research. Since 2009, he has worked as an independent researcher in the field of social sciences with a particular drive to make use of different statistical and mathematical modelling techniques for the analysis of large and multi-dispersed data sets.

He has worked with universities in the UK, Europe, Australia and the Middle East; publishing a number of peer-reviewed articles. He has also been invited to give talks and presentations at several leading universities and organisations. His current research interests focus on exploring the potential role of mathematical dynamical systems in the field of population ageing across health and social care. Mohamed is the Director of Analytical Research ltd and an affiliate at the Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, University of Oxford.