إسكات FOXRED1 في الفئران: نموذج حيواني محتمل لمتلازمة لي

0
308
الآراء

تعد متلازمة لي (LS) واحدة من أكثر اضطرابات الميتوكوندريا المحيرة ، والتي تُعرف أيضًا باسم اعتلال الدماغ تحت الحاد. ويبلغ معدل حدوثه 1 من بين 77000 مولود حي في جميع أنحاء العالم مع تشخيص سيئ. يوجد حاليًا فهم ضعيف للآليات الفيزيولوجية المرضية الكامنة للمرض دون أي علاج فعال متاح. ومن ثم ، فإن حتمية تطوير نماذج حيوانية وخلوية مناسبة لتطوير طرائق علاجية جديدة ناجحة. في هذا التقرير القصير ، قمنا بحظر جين FOXRED1 باستخدام RNA صغير متداخل (siRNA) باستخدام C57bl / 6 الفئران. أظهرت النتائج تغيرات سلوكية عصبية في الفئران المحقونة جنباً إلى جنب مع انحطاط متوازي في الجسم المخطط وتجنيب المادة السوداء على غرار ما يحدث في حالات متلازمة لي. يمكن أن يكون انسداد FOXRED1 بمثابة نموذج حيواني جديد لمتلازمة لي بسبب خلل CI ، والذي يعكس الضرر الذي لحق بالجسم المخطط وتأثير نظام الدوبامين المركزي في هذا المرض. مزيد من الدراسات قبل السريرية مطلوبة للتحقق من صحة هذا النموذج.

سلامة م ، الدسوقي ، السيد أ ، الحسيني م ، مصطفى أ ، تعلب ي ، محمد و. (2018) إسكات FOXRED1 في الفئران: نموذج حيواني محتمل لمتلازمة لي. متعب الدماغ

رصيد الصورة: Robina Weermeijer - unsplash.com

+ المشاركات

معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية ، الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة ، مصر

أنشأ الدكتور محمد سلامة أول وحدة ترجمة في علم الأعصاب في مصر. أدى بحث محمد التعاوني إلى إنشاء الشبكة المصرية للاضطرابات التنكسية العصبية (ENND). تم اختيار محمد كباحث عالمي أول في SOT في عام 2013 وحاصل على جائزة Translational / bridging في عام 2016. وقد تم تكريمه من قبل مؤسسة باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة (PMDF) لأبحاثه المستمرة في مجال التنكس العصبي.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، نجح محمد وزملاؤه في صياغة الأولى مرجع الجينوم المصري والتعاون مع الزملاء الآخرين لبدء مجموعة وطنية (دراسة طولية للشيخوخة الصحية في مصر [الصحة]). حاليًا ، محمد هو زميل أقدم من معهد الأطلسي للمساواة في صحة الدماغ في المعهد العالمي لصحة الدماغ (GBHI) وأستاذ مشارك في معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية في الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة (AUC).

FOXRED1 silencing in mice: A possible animal model for Leigh Syndrome

0
108
views

Leigh syndrome (LS) is one of the most puzzling mitochondrial disorders, which is also known as subacute necrotizing encephalopathy. It has an incidence of 1 in 77,000 live births worldwide with poor prognosis. Currently, there is a poor understanding of the underlying pathophysiological mechanisms of the disease without any available effective treatment. Hence, the inevitability for developing suitable animal and cellular models needed for the development of successful new therapeutic modalities. In this short report, we blocked FOXRED1 gene with small interfering RNA (siRNA) using C57bl/6 mice. Results showed neurobehavioral changes in the injected mice along with parallel degeneration in corpus striatum and sparing of the substantia nigra similar to what happen in Leigh syndrome cases. FOXRED1 blockage could serve as a new animal model for Leigh syndrome due to defective CI, which echoes damage to corpus striatum and affection of the central dopaminergic system in this disease. Further preclinical studies are required to validate this model.

Salama M, El-Desouky S, Alsayed A, El-hussiny M, Moustafa A, Taalab Y., Mohamed W. (2018) FOXRED1 silencing in mice: A possible animal model for Leigh Syndrome. Metab Brain

Image credit: Robina Weermeijer – unsplash.com

+ posts

Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology, American University in Cairo, Egypt

Dr Mohamed Salama established the first Translational Neuroscience Unit in Egypt. Mohamed’s collaborative research led to establishing the Egyptian Network for Neurodegenerative Disorders (ENND). Mohamed was selected as a SOT Global Senior Scholar in 2013 and Translational/bridging awardee in 2016. He was awarded by Parkinson’s and Movement Disorders Foundation (PMDF) for his continuing research in the field of neurodegeneration.

Recently, Mohamed and his colleagues succeeded to draft the first Reference Egyptian Genome and collaborating with other colleagues to start a national cohort (A Longitudinal Study of Egyptian Health Aging [AL-SEHA]). Currently, Mohamed is Atlantic senior fellow for Equity in brain health at the Global Brain Health Institute (GBHI) and Associate professor at the Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology at the American University in Cairo (AUC).