مرافق طويلة الأجل لكبار السن في مالطا

0
460
الآراء

يغطي اختصاص الرعاية طويلة الأجل تلك الخدمات التي يضطلع بها الآخرون لضمان أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان كبير ومستمر للقدرة الذاتية أو المعرضين لخطرها يمكنهم الحفاظ على مستوى من القدرة الوظيفية يتوافق مع حقوقهم الأساسية وحرياتهم الأساسية وكرامتهم الإنسانية. يمكن تقديم هذه الخدمات في أماكن مختلفة تتراوح من المساكن الخاصة إلى المساكن المعيشية المساعدة إلى المرافق المتخصصة التي توفر الإقامة والرعاية طويلة الأجل كحزمة للأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى رعاية صحية وتمريضية مستمرة بسبب الإعاقات المزمنة وانخفاض درجة الاستقلال في الأنشطة من الحياة اليومية. تركز هذه المقالة الافتتاحية على مرافق الرعاية طويلة الأجل في مالطا ، والتي تلبي احتياجات الأشخاص الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 60 عامًا أو أكثر ممن تتطلب أمراضهم الجسدية والمعرفية المزمنة خدمات اجتماعية وصحية غير متوفرة أو غير مجدية في محيط المجتمع.

فورموزا، م (2019). مرافق طويلة الأجل لكبار السن في مالطا: السياسات والاتجاهات والتحديات. المجلة التركية لطب الشيخوخة ، 22 (2) ، الخامس الحادي عشر.

+ المشاركات

مدير معهد الأمم المتحدة الدولي للشيخوخة ، مالطا

مارفن فورموزا دكتوراه هو أستاذ مشارك ورئيس قسم علم الشيخوخة ودراسات الخرف، كلية الرفاهية الاجتماعية ، جامعة مالطا. وهو يشغل مناصب رئيس اللجنة الوطنية للشيخوخة النشطة (مالطا) ، ومندوب رئيس الجامعة لجامعة العمر الثالث (مالطا) ، ومدير المعهد الدولي للشيخوخة التابع للأمم المتحدة - مالطا (INIA). نشر البروفيسور فورموزا على نطاق واسع في مجال دراسات الشيخوخة ، وتضمنت المنشورات الحديثة الشيخوخة النشطة والصحية: استفسارات الشيخوخة والشيخوخة (2018) ، وجامعة العمر الثالث والشيخوخة النشطة: وجهات نظر أوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ (2019).

وهو رئيس الفريق القطري (مالطا) لمسح الصحة والشيخوخة والتقاعد في أوروبا (SHARE) ، ورئيس تحرير المجلة الدولية حول الشيخوخة في البلدان النامية ، وتشمل اهتماماته الأكاديمية تعلم الكبار ، جامعات العصر الثالث ، ديناميكيات الطبقة الاجتماعية ، علم الشيخوخة النسوي ، وعلم الشيخوخة النقدي.

Long-term facilities for older persons in Malta

0
104
views

The remit of long-term care covers those services undertaken by others to ensure that people with, or at risk of, a significant ongoing loss of intrinsic capacity can maintain a level of functional ability consistent with their basic rights, fundamental freedoms and human dignity. Such services can be provided in various settings ranging from private residences to assisted living housing to specialised facilities which provide accommodation and long-term care as a package to people requiring ongoing health and nursing care due to chronic impairments and a reduced degree of independence in activities of daily living. This editorial focuses on long-term care facilities in Malta, which cater for persons aged 60 years or over whose chronic physical and cognitive morbidities necessitate social and health services that are unavailable or unfeasible to provide in the community setting.

Formosa, M. (2019). Long-term facilities for older persons in Malta: Policies, trends and challenges. Turkish Journal of Geriatrics, 22(2), v-xi.

+ posts

Director of the United Nations International Institute on Ageing, Malta

Marvin Formosa PhD is Associate Professor and Head of the Department of Gerontology and Dementia Studies, Faculty for Social Wellbeing, University of Malta. He holds the posts of Chairperson of the National Commission for Active Ageing (Malta), Rector’s Delegate for the University of the Third Age (Malta), and Director of the International Institute on Ageing United Nations – Malta (INIA). Prof. Formosa published widely in the field of ageing studies, and recent publications included Active and healthy ageing: Gerontological and geriatric inquiries (2018), and The University of the Third Age and active ageing: European and Asian-Pacific perspectives (2019).

He is Country Team Leader (Malta) of the Survey of Health, Ageing, and Retirement in Europe (SHARE), sits as Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal on Ageing in Developing Countries, and his academic interests include older adult learning, Universities of the Third Age, social class dynamics, feminist gerontology, and critical gerontology.