عملية قرار المهاجرين تشكل اختيار وجهة العمل في الرعاية طويلة الأجل

0
514
الآراء

يؤدي تصاعد الطلب على الرعاية الرسمية طويلة الأجل (LTC) إلى الاعتماد على العمال المهاجرين في العديد من البلدان المتقدمة. داخل أوروبا ، يتم تأطير هذا حاليًا من خلال سياسات الهجرة الأوروبية التقدمية التي تفضل التنقل بين أوروبا. باستخدام المملكة المتحدة والنرويج كدراسات حالة ، تحتوي هذه المقالة على هدفين رئيسيين: (1) لتوثيق التغييرات في مساهمة مهاجري الاتحاد الأوروبي (EU) في قطاعات LTC في أوروبا الغربية ، و (2) لاكتساب المزيد من الفهم للمهاجرين عمليات اتخاذ القرار المتعلقة بالوجهة وخيارات العمل. تقدم المملكة المتحدة والنرويج أمثلة عن دولتين أوروبيتين لهما تاريخ هجرة مختلف وأنظمة الرفاهية وخصائص سوق العمل والقيم الثقافية ، مما يوفر منصة مقارنة غنية. يستخدم التحليل مجموعات بيانات القوى العاملة الوطنية والبيانات التي تم الحصول عليها من المهاجرين العاملين في قطاع LTC في المملكة المتحدة والنرويج (ن = 248) وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرون (ن = 136). يؤسس التحليل زيادة كبيرة في مساهمة المهاجرين من الاتحاد الأوروبي (خاصة من أوروبا الشرقية) في قطاع LTC في كل من المملكة المتحدة والنرويج على الرغم من أنظمة الرفاهية المختلفة. وتسلط النتائج الضوء أيضًا على كيفية تطوير العاملين في مجال رعاية المهاجرين لعمليات قرار عقلانية تتأثر بالمنظورات الشخصية للاستثمارات والعائدات في سياق حواجز الهجرة الهيكلية الأوسع. ويشمل الأخير سياسات الرعاية الاجتماعية والرعاية الاجتماعية التي تحدد شروط الإجراءات الفردية للمهاجرين.

كريستنسن ، ك. حسينو S. و اسماعيلم. (2017) استخبارات المهاجرين تشكل اختيار وجهة العمل: حالة أعمال الرعاية طويلة الأجل في المملكة المتحدة والنرويج. المجلة الأوروبية للشيخوخة. 14(3): 219-232.

رصيد الصورة: QFSW، صراع الأسهم.كوم

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

+ المشاركات

مدير الأبحاث التحليلية المحدودة ، وزميل أبحاث منتسب ، معهد أكسفورد لشيخوخة السكان ، جامعة أكسفورد ، المملكة المتحدة

محمد متدرب في الهندسة (منج - جامعة القاهرة) ، وعلوم الكمبيوتر (ماجستير - جامعة القاهرة) والتمويل الرياضي (ماجستير - كلية إدارة الأعمال ، جامعة لندن). بدأ محمد حياته المهنية في مدينة لندن في التسعينيات ، حيث عمل كمحلل كمي لمنظمات مالية عالمية رائدة ، مثل ميريل لينش ، وإتش إس بي سي ، وميزوهو ، وكريدي سويس ، قبل أن يبدأ في تحويل تركيزه إلى البحث الاجتماعي الكمي. منذ عام 2009 ، عمل كباحث مستقل في مجال العلوم الاجتماعية بدافع خاص للاستفادة من تقنيات النمذجة الإحصائية والرياضية المختلفة لتحليل مجموعات البيانات الكبيرة والمتعددة.

عمل مع جامعات في المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا وأستراليا والشرق الأوسط. نشر عدد من المقالات التي راجعها النظراء. كما تمت دعوته لإلقاء محاضرات وعروض تقديمية في العديد من الجامعات والمنظمات الرائدة. تركز اهتماماته البحثية الحالية على استكشاف الدور المحتمل للأنظمة الديناميكية الرياضية في مجال شيخوخة السكان عبر الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية. محمد هو مدير الأبحاث التحليلية المحدودة وإحدى الشركات التابعة في معهد أكسفورد لشيخوخة السكان، جامعة أكسفورد.

Migrants’ decision-process shaping work destination choice in long term care

0
122
views

Escalating demands for formal long-term care (LTC) result in the reliance on migrant workers in many developed countries. Within Europe, this is currently framed by progressive European immigration policies favouring inter-European mobility. Using the UK and Norway as case studies, this article has two main aims: (1) to document changes in the contribution of European Union (EU) migrants to the LTC sectors in Western Europe, and (2) to gain further understanding of migrants’ decision-processes relating to destination and work choices. The UK and Norway provide examples of two European countries with different immigration histories, welfare regimes, labour market characteristics and cultural values, offering a rich comparison platform. The analysis utilizes national workforce datasets and data obtained from migrants working in the LTC sector in the UK and Norway (n = 248) and other stakeholders (n = 136). The analysis establishes a significant increase in the contribution of EU migrants (particularly from Eastern Europe) to the LTC sector in both the UK and Norway despite their different welfare regimes. The findings also highlight how migrant care workers develop rational decision-processes influenced by subjective perspectives of investments and returns within a context of wider structural migration barriers. The latter includes welfare and social care policies framing the conditions for migrants’ individual actions.

Christensen, K., Hussein, S. and Ismail, M. (2017) Migrant intelligence shaping work destination choice:  the case of long-term care work in the United Kingdom and Norway. European Journal of Aging. 14(3): 219-232.

Image credit: QFSW, shutter stock.com

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.

+ posts

Director of Analytical Research Ltd, and Affiliate Research Fellow, Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Mohamed is trained in engineering (MEng – Cairo University), computer science (MSc – Cairo University) and mathematical finance (MSc – CASS Business School, University of London). Mohamed started his career in in the City of London in 1990s, working as a quantitative analyst for leading global financial organisations, such as Merrill Lynch, HSBC, Mizuho and Credit Suisse, before he began to shift his focus onto quantitative social research. Since 2009, he has worked as an independent researcher in the field of social sciences with a particular drive to make use of different statistical and mathematical modelling techniques for the analysis of large and multi-dispersed data sets.

He has worked with universities in the UK, Europe, Australia and the Middle East; publishing a number of peer-reviewed articles. He has also been invited to give talks and presentations at several leading universities and organisations. His current research interests focus on exploring the potential role of mathematical dynamical systems in the field of population ageing across health and social care. Mohamed is the Director of Analytical Research ltd and an affiliate at the Oxford Institute of Population Ageing, University of Oxford.