يؤدي Piericidin A إلى تفاقم أمراض تاو في الفئران المعدلة وراثيًا P301S

0
301
الآراء

هدف

تسبب طفرة P301S في إكسون 10 من جين تاو اعتلال تاوباثي وراثي. بينما تم ربط تثبيط مركب الميتوكوندريا I باعتلالات تاوباثية المتفرقة. Piericidin A هو عضو نموذجي في مجموعة piericidins ، فئة من مثبطات المركب الطبيعي النشط بيولوجيًا I ، المعزولة من streptomyces النيابة. مع التوزيع العالمي في الموائل البحرية والزراعية. كان الهدف من هذه الدراسة هو تحديد ما إذا كان هناك تفاعل مُمْرِض للسموم البيئية بيريسيدين A وطفرة P301S.

أساليب

الفئران المعدلة وراثيا التي تعبر عن تاو الإنسان مع طفرة P301S (P301S+/+) والفئران البرية بعمر 12 أسبوعًا تم علاجها تحت الجلد بمركبة (N = 10 P301S+/+، N = 7 من النوع البري) أو البيريسيدين A (N = 9 P301S+/+، N = 9 فئران من النوع البري) بجرعة 0.5 مجم / كجم / يوم لمدة 28 يومًا عبر المضخات الصغيرة التناضحية. تم قياس علم أمراض تاو من خلال التعداد المجسم للخلايا المناعية مع الأجسام المضادة ضد تاو الفسفوري (AD2 و AT8 و AT180 و AT100) وتحليل اللطخة الغربية المقابلة.

نتائج

زاد Piericidin A بشكل كبير من عدد الخلايا المناعية للفوسفو تاو في القشرة الدماغية في P301S+/+ الفئران ، ولكن فقط بدرجة متغيرة ومعتدلة في الفئران من النوع البري. علاوة على ذلك ، أدى البيريسيدين أ إلى زيادة مستويات تاو المفسفرة مرضيًا فقط في P301S+/+ الفئران. بينما لم نلاحظ أي فقدان واضح للخلايا في القشرة الأمامية ، تم تقليل كثافة المشابك بواسطة علاج piericidin A في P301S+/+ الفئران.

مناقشة

تظهر هذه الدراسة أن التعرض لبيريسدين أ يؤدي إلى تفاقم مسار علم أمراض تاو المحدد وراثيًا ، مما يوفر دعمًا تجريبيًا لمفهوم التفاعل بين البيئة الجينية في مسببات أمراض تاووبات.

ماتياس هولرهاج ، رومان ديك ، أندرسون دي أندرادي ، جيسين ريسبونديك ، هونج شو ، توماس دبليو روسلر ، محمد سلامة، توماس كارلسون ، إليزابيث س. يامادا ، سهام أ.جاد الحق ، ميشيل جوديرت ، فولفجانج إتش أويرتيل ، جونتر يو هوغلينجر. 2015. يؤدي Piericidin A إلى تفاقم أمراض تاو في الفئران المعدلة وراثيًا P301S. بلوس واحد 9 (12): e113557.

رصيد الصورة: لويس ريد ، unplash.com

+ المشاركات

معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية ، الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة ، مصر

أنشأ الدكتور محمد سلامة أول وحدة ترجمة في علم الأعصاب في مصر. أدى بحث محمد التعاوني إلى إنشاء الشبكة المصرية للاضطرابات التنكسية العصبية (ENND). تم اختيار محمد كباحث عالمي أول في SOT في عام 2013 وحاصل على جائزة Translational / bridging في عام 2016. وقد تم تكريمه من قبل مؤسسة باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة (PMDF) لأبحاثه المستمرة في مجال التنكس العصبي.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، نجح محمد وزملاؤه في صياغة الأولى مرجع الجينوم المصري والتعاون مع الزملاء الآخرين لبدء مجموعة وطنية (دراسة طولية للشيخوخة الصحية في مصر [الصحة]). حاليًا ، محمد هو زميل أقدم من معهد الأطلسي للمساواة في صحة الدماغ في المعهد العالمي لصحة الدماغ (GBHI) وأستاذ مشارك في معهد الصحة العالمية وعلم البيئة البشرية في الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة (AUC).

Piericidin A Aggravates Tau Pathology in P301S Transgenic Mice

0
102
views

Objective

The P301S mutation in exon 10 of the tau gene causes a hereditary tauopathy. While mitochondrial complex I inhibition has been linked to sporadic tauopathies. Piericidin A is a prototypical member of the group of the piericidins, a class of biologically active natural complex I inhibitors, isolated from streptomyces spp. with global distribution in marine and agricultural habitats. The aim of this study was to determine whether there is a pathogenic interaction of the environmental toxin piericidin A and the P301S mutation.

Methods

Transgenic mice expressing human tau with the P301S-mutation (P301S+/+) and wild-type mice at 12 weeks of age were treated subcutaneously with vehicle (N = 10 P301S+/+, N = 7 wild-type) or piericidin A (N = 9 P301S+/+, N = 9 wild-type mice) at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg/d for a period of 28 days via osmotic minipumps. Tau pathology was measured by stereological counts of cells immunoreative with antibodies against phosphorylated tau (AD2, AT8, AT180, and AT100) and corresponding Western blot analysis.

Results

Piericidin A significantly increased the number of phospho-tau immunoreactive cells in the cerebral cortex in P301S+/+ mice, but only to a variable and mild extent in wild-type mice. Furthermore, piericidin A led to increased levels of pathologically phosphorylated tau only in P301S+/+ mice. While we observed no apparent cell loss in the frontal cortex, the synaptic density was reduced by piericidin A treatment in P301S+/+ mice.

Discussion

This study shows that exposure to piericidin A aggravates the course of genetically determined tau pathology, providing experimental support for the concept of gene-environment interaction in the etiology of tauopathies.

Matthias Höllerhage, Roman Deck, Anderson De Andrade, Gesine Respondek, Hong Xu, Thomas W. Rösler, Mohamed Salama, Thomas Carlsson, Elizabeth S. Yamada, Seham A. Gad El Hak, Michel Goedert, Wolfgang H.  Oertel, Günter U. Höglinger. 2015. Piericidin A aggravates tau pathology in P301S transgenic mice. PLOS one 9(12):e113557.

Image credit: Louis Reed, unsplash.com

+ posts

Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology, American University in Cairo, Egypt

Dr Mohamed Salama established the first Translational Neuroscience Unit in Egypt. Mohamed’s collaborative research led to establishing the Egyptian Network for Neurodegenerative Disorders (ENND). Mohamed was selected as a SOT Global Senior Scholar in 2013 and Translational/bridging awardee in 2016. He was awarded by Parkinson’s and Movement Disorders Foundation (PMDF) for his continuing research in the field of neurodegeneration.

Recently, Mohamed and his colleagues succeeded to draft the first Reference Egyptian Genome and collaborating with other colleagues to start a national cohort (A Longitudinal Study of Egyptian Health Aging [AL-SEHA]). Currently, Mohamed is Atlantic senior fellow for Equity in brain health at the Global Brain Health Institute (GBHI) and Associate professor at the Institute of Global Health and Human Ecology at the American University in Cairo (AUC).