شيخوخة السكان في مالطا: وجهات نظر متعددة التخصصات

0
478
الآراء

كانت حياة كبار السن أكثر بساطة قبل 28 عامًا. في عام 1982 ، أصدر مكتب البريد مجموعة من طابعين حول موضوع "وقت للراحة" يظهر فيهما رجل وامرأة مسنان يرتديان ملابس القرية النمطية على خلفية مستشفى زاميت كلاب للشيخوخة ومقر إقامة سانت فنسنت دي بول لكبار السن . في عام 1986 ، قدم قسم الطب بضع محاضرات عن طب الشيخوخة لطلاب الطب في سنتهم الأخيرة تقريبًا كفكرة لاحقة ، مع كون إدارة قرح الفراش هي أهم موضوع يتم تدريسه. كان من الواضح أن مستقبل كبار السن المثاليين لدينا "Wenzu u Rozi" هو "الراحة" في المؤسسات حيث يمكن للأطباء التعامل مع التقرحات. تقدم سريعًا إلى عام 2015 وأنا أقرأ كتاب شيخوخة السكان في مالطا:
وجهات نظر متعددة التخصصات. إنه منشور تاريخي يُظهر التقدم الهائل الذي حققته دراسة الشيخوخة في مالطا في السنوات الـ 28 الماضية. يجمع الكتاب بين مجموعة متنوعة من المؤلفين الذين يكتبون بسهولة وبشكل رسمي حول جوانب مختلفة من الشيخوخة ورعاية المسنين في مالطا من مجالات متنوعة مثل التاريخ وعلم الاجتماع وعلم الجريمة والأدوار المهنية وقطاعات الرعاية غير الرسمية والرسمية والخاصة. يتوافق هذا العرض أيضًا مع العمق الذي تتم فيه تغطية الموضوعات. يجب تهنئة المحررين على تقديم الهيكل والمقدمة والخاتمة في مجلد واحد رائع يلهم ويوجه
المهنيين ومخططي الخدمات العاملين في مجال الشيخوخة في مالطا لسنوات قادمة. الدكتور كارميلو أكويلينا ، مستشفى سانت جورج ، سيدني ، نيو ساوث ويلز ، أستراليا

فورموزا، M. & Scerri ، C. (محرران) (2015). شيخوخة السكان في مالطا: وجهات نظر متعددة التخصصات. مالطا: مطبعة جامعة مالطا.

+ المشاركات

مدير معهد الأمم المتحدة الدولي للشيخوخة ، مالطا

مارفن فورموزا دكتوراه هو أستاذ مشارك ورئيس قسم علم الشيخوخة ودراسات الخرف، كلية الرفاهية الاجتماعية ، جامعة مالطا. وهو يشغل مناصب رئيس اللجنة الوطنية للشيخوخة النشطة (مالطا) ، ومندوب رئيس الجامعة لجامعة العمر الثالث (مالطا) ، ومدير المعهد الدولي للشيخوخة التابع للأمم المتحدة - مالطا (INIA). نشر البروفيسور فورموزا على نطاق واسع في مجال دراسات الشيخوخة ، وتضمنت المنشورات الحديثة الشيخوخة النشطة والصحية: استفسارات الشيخوخة والشيخوخة (2018) ، وجامعة العمر الثالث والشيخوخة النشطة: وجهات نظر أوروبا وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ (2019).

وهو رئيس الفريق القطري (مالطا) لمسح الصحة والشيخوخة والتقاعد في أوروبا (SHARE) ، ورئيس تحرير المجلة الدولية حول الشيخوخة في البلدان النامية ، وتشمل اهتماماته الأكاديمية تعلم الكبار ، جامعات العصر الثالث ، ديناميكيات الطبقة الاجتماعية ، علم الشيخوخة النسوي ، وعلم الشيخوخة النقدي.

Population ageing in Malta: multidisciplinary perspectives

0
325
views

Life for older people was more simple 28 years ago. In 1982, the post office issued a set of two stamps on the theme of ‘a time of rest’ featuring an older man and woman in stereotypical village clothes against a background of Zammit Clapp Geriatric Hospital and St. Vincent de Paul Residence for older persons. In 1986, the Department of Medicine provided a few lectures on geriatrics to medical students in their final year almost as an afterthought, with the management of bedsores being the most important topic taught. The future for our idealised ‘Wenzu u Rozi’ older people was evidently to ‘rest’ in institutions where doctors could manage their bedsores. Fast forward to 2015 and I am reading the book Population ageing in Malta:
Multidisciplinary Perspectives. It is a landmark publication showing the vast progress that the study of ageing in Malta has undergone in the last 28 years. The book brings together a wide variety of authors writing accessibly and authoritatively about different aspects of ageing and aged care in Malta from miscellaneous fields such as history, sociology, criminology, professional roles, and the informal, formal and private care sectors. This breadth is also matched by the depth in which subjects are covered. The editors are to be congratulated for providing the structure, introduction and conclusion in one magnificent volume that will inspire and guide
professionals and service planners working in the field of ageing in Malta for years to come. Dr Carmelo Aquilina, St George Hospital, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Formosa, M. & Scerri, C. (Eds.) (2015). Population ageing in Malta: Multidisciplinary perspectives. Malta: Malta University Press.

+ posts

Director of the United Nations International Institute on Ageing, Malta

Marvin Formosa PhD is Associate Professor and Head of the Department of Gerontology and Dementia Studies, Faculty for Social Wellbeing, University of Malta. He holds the posts of Chairperson of the National Commission for Active Ageing (Malta), Rector’s Delegate for the University of the Third Age (Malta), and Director of the International Institute on Ageing United Nations – Malta (INIA). Prof. Formosa published widely in the field of ageing studies, and recent publications included Active and healthy ageing: Gerontological and geriatric inquiries (2018), and The University of the Third Age and active ageing: European and Asian-Pacific perspectives (2019).

He is Country Team Leader (Malta) of the Survey of Health, Ageing, and Retirement in Europe (SHARE), sits as Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal on Ageing in Developing Countries, and his academic interests include older adult learning, Universities of the Third Age, social class dynamics, feminist gerontology, and critical gerontology.