الشيخوخة الصحية والاستقلال والهجرة وجهات نظر كبار السن من المهاجرين الأتراك في المملكة المتحدة

0
143
الآراء

يدعو اتجاه السياسة الحالي ، مثل عقد الأمم المتحدة للشيخوخة الصحية وأهداف التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 ، إلى تعزيز الشيخوخة الصحية بين كبار السن وتعزيز رفاهية كبار السن. تركز السياسة على حماية حقوق الفئات الأكثر ضعفًا ، تحت شعار "ضمان عدم تخلف أحد عن الركب"في صميم خطاب السياسة. ومع ذلك ، فإن تعريفات الشيخوخة الصحية وشموليتها قابلة للنقاش. أثارت التعريفات السابقة للشيخوخة الصحية ، مثل الشيخوخة الناجحة ، انتقادات من العلماء في مختلف التخصصات لاتباع نهج بيولوجي / طبي تجاه الشيخوخة وتركيزهم على الصحة البدنية للأفراد واستقلالهم الوظيفي. علاوة على ذلك ، غالبًا ما تستند مفاهيم الشيخوخة الناجحة إلى وجهات النظر الغربية للنجاح ، والتي تقدر الإنجاز الفردي والاستقلالية من حيث الاعتماد على الذات. في التطورات الأخيرة ، تم استبدال مصطلح الشيخوخة الناجحة في مجال السياسة بمصطلحات أخرى مثل "الشيخوخة النشطة" للحث على صورة أكثر شمولاً للشيخوخة. ومع ذلك ، فإن ما يتم مشاركته بين التعريفات السابقة والجديدة للشيخوخة الصحية هو التركيز على القدرات الوظيفية لكبار السن مما يجعل المفهوم مثاليًا وغير قابل للتحقيق لقطاع كبير من المجتمع دون النظر في سياقات الشيخوخة. من المرجح أن يكون هذا هو الحال بين كبار السن الذين لديهم خصائص محددة ، وتشمل الخلفيات الأقليات العرقية كبار السن في المملكة المتحدة. على هذه الخلفية ، ورقتنا "الشيخوخة المستدامة: دعم الشيخوخة الصحية والاستقلال بين المهاجرين الأتراك الأكبر سنًا في المملكة المتحدة" يبحث في تجارب الشيخوخة الصحية ، مع التركيز على ما يشكل الاستقلال كمفهوم تفسيري مركزي له بين المهاجرين الأتراك الأكبر سنًا في لندن.

بناءً على تجربة 65 من البالغين الأتراك الأكبر سنًا و 13 من أصحاب المصلحة في المجتمع ، استكشفنا معنى مفهوم الشيخوخة الصحية. تُظهِر روايات المشاركين تفسيرات ومفاهيم مختلفة للشيخوخة الصحية التي لا تتوافق بالضرورة مع تعريفات هذه المفاهيم وتفعيلها في مجال السياسة. في حين أن الاستقلال في خطاب الشيخوخة الناجح والصحي غالبًا ما يُنظر إليه على أنه قدرة كبار السن على الاعتناء بأنفسهم والاستمرار في العيش بمفردهم في منازلهم في سن الشيخوخة ، فإن تصور الاستقلال لكبار السن الأتراك كان أقرب إلى مفاهيم الترابط والتمتع علاقة متبادلة مع الأطفال وأفراد الأسرة الآخرين في سن الشيخوخة. تحدد نتائج دراستنا وجود أبعاد مختلفة للاستقلالية في سن الشيخوخة حيث كانت قضايا الاستقلالية والاختيار والتحكم في البيئة المادية والاجتماعية مهمة في فهم وتفعيل سلوكيات الشيخوخة الصحية بين كبار السن. هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص بالنسبة لكبار السن الذين تتفاعل مواردهم الشخصية ، بما في ذلك تلك المتعلقة بكونهم مهاجرين ، مع الهياكل الاجتماعية للتأثير على كيفية تنقلهم في آليات الدعم هذه. تم الاعتراف بمستويات منخفضة من الأمن المالي مقترنة بالعوائق الهيكلية مثل عدم الاعتراف باحتياجاتهم اللغوية والثقافية في تصميم وتقديم خدمات الرعاية ، ودعم النقل والإسكان كمثال على الحواجز الشخصية والهيكلية التي تعيق تحقيق شيخوخة صحية بين الجالية التركية الأقدم في لندن. يناقش المقال الحاجة الملحة إلى الاهتمام بالبيئات المختلفة للشيخوخة والتنوع في تجارب كبار السن داخل نفس المجتمعات. ومن ثم ، فإننا ندعو إلى تعريفات أكثر دقة وفهمًا للشيخوخة الصحية والاستقلال بين مجموعات مختلفة من كبار السن وداخلها لتحقيق شيخوخة مستدامة في جميع أنحاء المملكة المتحدة والعالم.

لقراءة المزيد عن الدراسة والنتائج التفصيلية ، يرجى الاطلاع على المقال كاملاً:

Yazdanpanahi M، حسين S. S.الشيخوخة المستدامة: دعم الشيخوخة الصحية والاستقلال بين المهاجرين الأتراك الأكبر سنًا في المملكة المتحدةالاستدامة. 2021 ؛ 13 (18): 10387. https://doi.org/10.3390/su131810387

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

الأستاذة شيرين حسين أستاذة سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين أبحاثًا مكثفة حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، وعلى الصعيد الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء مباشرة إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

ميليسا يزدانباناهي
+ المشاركات

Healthy Ageing, Independence and Migration the Perspectives of Older Turkish Migrants in the UK

0
142
views

Current policy direction, such as the UN Decade of Healthy Ageing and the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals, calls to foster healthy ageing amongst older adults and promote older people’s wellbeing. The policy focuses on protecting the rights of the most vulnerable groups, with the slogan of “ensuring that no one is left behind” at the core of policy rhetoric. Yet, the definitions of healthy ageing and their inclusivity are debatable. The earlier definitions of healthy ageing, such as successful ageing, have drawn criticism from scholars in different disciplines for having a biological/medical approach towards old age and their focus on individuals’ physical health and functional independence. Moreover, notions of successful ageing are often based on western views of success, which value individual achievement and autonomy in terms of self-reliance. In recent developments, the term successful ageing in the policy sphere was replaced by other terms such as ‘active ageing’ to induce a more inclusive image of ageing. However, what is shared between earlier and new definitions of healthy ageing is the emphasis on the functional abilities of older adults that makes the concept idealistic and unachievable for a large segment of society without considering the contexts of ageing. This is more likely to be the case among older adults with specific characteristics, and backgrounds include ethnic minority older adults in the UK. Against this backdrop, our paper “Sustainable ageing: supporting healthy ageing and independence amongst Older Turkish Migrants in the UK” investigates the experiences of healthy ageing, focusing on what constitutes independence as its central explanatory concept amongst older Turkish migrants in London.

Based on the experience of 65 older Turkish adults and 13 community stakeholders, we explored the meaning of the notion of healthy ageing. Participants’ narratives show different interpretations and understandings of healthy ageing that do not necessarily resonate with the definitions and operationalization of these concepts in the policy sphere. While independence in the successful and healthy ageing discourse is often regarded as older adults’ ability to look after themselves and continue to live alone in their own home in old age, the conceptualization of independence for older Turkish adults was closer to notions of interdependency and having a reciprocal relationship with children and other family members in old age. The findings of our study identify the existence of different dimensions to independence in old age where issues of autonomy, choice and control over the physical and social environment were important in understanding and operationalizing healthy ageing behaviours amongst older adults. This is especially the case for older adults whose personal resources, including those related to being migrants, interact with social structures to affect how they navigate these support mechanisms. Lower levels of financial security combined with structural barriers such as lack of recognition of their linguistic and cultural needs in the design and delivery of care services, transportation and housing supports were recognized as an example of personal and structural barriers hindering the achievement of healthy ageing among older Turkish community in London. The article argues for an urgent need to pay attention to the various environments of ageing and the diversity in the experiences of older adults within the same communities. Hence, we call for more nuanced definitions and understanding of healthy ageing and independence between and within various groups of older adults to achieve sustainable ageing across the UK and globally.

To read more about the study and detailed findings please see the full article:

Yazdanpanahi M, Hussein S. Sustainable Ageing: Supporting Healthy Ageing and Independence Amongst Older Turkish Migrants in the UKSustainability. 2021; 13(18):10387. https://doi.org/10.3390/su131810387

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.

Melissa Yazdanpanahi
+ posts