القوى العاملة للرعاية الاجتماعية للخرف

0
632
الآراء

هدف: لا يُعرف سوى القليل عن القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الاجتماعية التي تدعم الأشخاص المصابين بالخرف في إنجلترا. تسعى هذه المقالة إلى مقارنة خصائص الأشخاص العاملين في قطاع الرعاية الاجتماعية الذين يدعمون الأشخاص المصابين بالخرف مع أعضاء آخرين في القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الاجتماعية.

طرق: تتناول هذه المقالة التحليل الثانوي لمجموعة بيانات جديدة للقوى العاملة الوطنية من إنجلترا تغطي موظفي الرعاية الاجتماعية. تم إجراء التحليل الثانوي لمجموعة البيانات هذه باستخدام 457031 سجلًا فريدًا للعمال.

النتائج: هناك بعض الاختلافات المهمة بين القوى العاملة في رعاية الخرف وأجزاء أخرى من القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الاجتماعية فيما يتعلق بالقوى العاملة في رعاية الخرف من المرجح أن تكون إناثًا ، وأن تعمل بدوام جزئي ، وأن يتم توظيفها من قبل الوكالات وأن تكون أقل تأهيلًا. يعمل الكثير في شركات الرعاية المتوسطة الحجم وفي منازل الناس. تم وضع النتائج في سياق الجهود المبذولة لزيادة التدريب والمهارات.

خاتمة: تعتبر معرفة القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الاجتماعية ذات صلة بجودة الرعاية ويجب أن تؤخذ في الاعتبار عند التخطيط للتدخلات والتكليف بالخدمات.

حسين، S. and Manthorpe، J. (2012) القوى العاملة للرعاية الاجتماعية للخرف في إنجلترا: تحليل ثانوي لمجموعة بيانات القوى العاملة الوطنية. الشيخوخة والصحة العقلية ، 16(1): 110-118.

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

The Dementia Social Care Workforce

0
217
views

Objective: Little is known about the social care workforce supporting people with dementia in England. This article seeks to compare the characteristics of people employed in the social care sector supporting people with dementia with other members of the social care workforce.

Methods: This article reports on the secondary analysis of a new national workforce dataset from England covering social care employees. Secondary analysis of this dataset was undertaken using 457,031 unique workers’ records.

Results: There are some important differences between the dementia care workforce and other parts of the social care workforce in respect of the dementia care workforce being more likely to be female, to work part-time, to be employed by agencies and to be less qualified. Many work for medium-sized care businesses and in people’s own homes. The findings are set in the context of efforts to increase training and skills.

Conclusion: Knowledge of the social care workforce is relevant to care quality and should be borne in mind when planning interventions and commissioning services.

Hussein, S. and Manthorpe, J. (2012) The dementia social care workforce in England: secondary analysis of a national workforce data set. Aging and Mental Health, 16(1): 110-118.

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.