المتطوعون الذين يدعمون كبار السن في أماكن الرعاية الرسمية في إنجلترا: العوامل الشخصية والمحلية التي تؤثر على الانتشار ونوع المشاركة

0
620
الآراء

في سياق المملكة المتحدة للتقشف المالي وتعزيز المسؤولية الاجتماعية من خلال مفهوم "المجتمع الكبير" ، أصبح المتطوعون جزءًا أكثر أهمية من القوى العاملة. وينطبق هذا بشكل خاص على قطاع الرعاية طويلة الأجل (LTC) ، حيث يكون كل من النقص في الموظفين والطلب على الدعم مرتفعًا بشكل خاص.

تبحث هذه المقالة في مستويات وملف مساهمة المتطوعين في قطاع LTC باستخدام مجموعة بيانات وطنية كبيرة ، مجموعة بيانات الحد الأدنى الوطنية للرعاية الاجتماعية ، المرتبطة بمستويات المنطقة المحلية من الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي. يظهر التحليل أن النشاط التطوعي في خدمات الرعاية الرسمية يختلف بين القطاعات وأنواع الخدمة ، مع عدم وجود علاقة قوية بين الحرمان في المنطقة المحلية ، ومستويات البطالة ، ومستويات التطوع. ومع ذلك ، تم العثور على بعض الارتباط مع مستوى rurality. تتجلى مساهمة المتطوعين بشكل أكبر في تقديم المشورة والدعم والدعوة والمشورة.

حسين، S. and Manthorpe، J. (2012) المتطوعون الذين يدعمون كبار السن في أماكن الرعاية الرسمية في إنجلترا: العوامل الشخصية والمحلية التي تؤثر على انتشار ونوع المشاركة. مجلة علم الشيخوخة التطبيقي ، 33 (8): 923-941.

رصيد الصورة: جويل مونيز - unsplash.com

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

شيرين حسين أستاذ سياسات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين بحثًا مكثفًا حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة المدى والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، على المستوى الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء بشكل مباشر إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

Volunteers Supporting Older People in Formal Care Settings in England: Personal and Local Factors Influencing Prevalence and Type of Participation

0
212
views

In the UK context of financial austerity and the promotion of social responsibility through the concept of the “Big Society,” volunteers are becoming a more important part of the labour workforce. This is particularly so in the long-term care (LTC) sector, where both shortages of staff and demands for support are particularly high.

This article investigates the levels and profile of contribution of volunteers in the LTC sector using a large national data set, National Minimum Data Set for Social Care, linked to local area levels of rurality and socioeconomic status. The analysis shows that volunteer activity in formal care services varies between sectors and service types, with no strong relationship between local area deprivation, unemployment levels, and levels of volunteering. However, some significant association was found with the level of rurality. The contribution of volunteers is most evident in the provision of counselling, support, advocacy, and advice.

Hussein, S. and Manthorpe, J. (2012) Volunteers supporting older people in formal care settings in England: personal and local factors influencing prevalence and type of participation. Journal of Applied Gerontology, 33(8): 923-941.

Image credit: Joel Muniz – unsplash.com

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.