نطاق وأسباب الفقر ‐ الأجور بين العاملين في مجال الرعاية

0
550
الآراء

تعمل الاتجاهات الديموغرافية على تصعيد الطلب على الرعاية الرسمية طويلة الأجل (LTC) في غالبية العالم المتقدم. تتميز القوى العاملة LTC بأجورها المنخفضة للغاية ، وحجمها الفعلي أقل شهرة. تبحث هذه المقالة في حجم أجور الفقر في قطاع التأنيث LTC وتحاول فهم الأسباب المتصورة وراء استمرار انخفاض الأجور في هذا القطاع. يستخدم التحليل بيانات أجور القوى العاملة الوطنية الكبيرة ومسحًا طوليًا للعاملين في مجال الرعاية ، بالإضافة إلى المقابلات مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في القطاع. يشير التحليل إلى أن هناك ما لا يقل عن 10 و 131TTP1T من العاملين في مجال الرعاية الذين يتقاضون رواتبهم فعليًا بموجب الحد الأدنى الوطني للأجور في إنجلترا. يسلط التحليل النوعي الموضوعي لـ 300 مقابلة مع أصحاب العمل والعاملين في مجال الرعاية ومستخدمي الخدمة الضوء على ثلاثة عوامل تفسيرية رئيسية للأجر المنخفض: الطبيعة الجوهرية لعمل LTC ، وقيمة رعاية كبار السن ، والتسويق والاستعانة بمصادر خارجية للخدمات.

حسين، س. (2017) "نحن لا نفعل ذلك من أجل المال "... حجم وأسباب الفقر - الأجور بين عمال الرعاية طويلة الأجل في الخطوط الأمامية في إنجلترا. الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في المجتمع. 25 (6): 1817-1826.

+ المشاركات

أستاذ سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية ، كلية لندن للصحة والطب الاستوائي ، المملكة المتحدة

الأستاذة شيرين حسين أستاذة سياسة الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية في قسم أبحاث وسياسات الخدمات الصحية (HSRP) في ال LSHTM. وهي مديرة مشاركة في PRUComm وحدة أبحاث السياسات. وهي أيضًا أستاذة فخرية في جامعة كنت وكينغز كوليدج لندن بالمملكة المتحدة وجامعة جنوب كوينزلاند في أستراليا.

شيرين ديموغرافية لديها خبرة في هجرة اليد العاملة وعلم الاجتماع والاقتصاد. يدور بحثها الأساسي حول الشيخوخة وديناميات الأسرة والهجرة والرعاية طويلة الأمد. عملت شيرين سابقًا مع الأمم المتحدة ومجلس السكان والبنك الدولي وجامعة الدول العربية. يركز بحثها الحالي على التركيبة السكانية للشيخوخة والطلب على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والهجرة داخل المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا والآثار المترتبة على السياسات والممارسات.

أجرت شيرين أبحاثًا مكثفة حول شيخوخة السكان وتأثيرها على الرعاية طويلة الأجل والسياسات والممارسات الصحية في المملكة المتحدة ، وعلى الصعيد الدولي وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وقد ساهمت في استجابة سياسات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة للشيخوخة في المنطقة من خلال التعاون مع "الإسكوا" وتقديم استشارات الخبراء مباشرة إلى العديد من البلدان في المنطقة بما في ذلك تركيا وعمان ومصر. تقود شيرين العديد من المشاريع البحثية الكبيرة حول الشيخوخة والرعاية طويلة الأمد في المملكة المتحدة وتساهم في مشروع كبير يعالج الاستجابات للخرف في البلدان النامية خطوة. شيرين هي مؤسسة وقائدة شبكة منارة.

The scale and reasons of poverty‐pay among care workers

0
528
views

Demographic trends escalate the demands for formal long‐term care (LTC ) in the majority of the developed world. The LTC workforce is characterised by its very low wages, the actual scale of which is less well known. This article investigates the scale of poverty‐pay in the feminised LTC sector and attempts to understand the perceived reasons behind persisting low wages in the sector. The analysis makes use of large national workforce pay data and a longitudinal survey of care workers, as well as interviews with key stakeholders in the sector. The analysis suggests that there are at least between 10 and 13% of care workers who are effectively being paid under the National Minimum Wage in England. Thematic qualitative analysis of 300 interviews with employers, care workers and service users highlight three key explanatory factors of low pay: the intrinsic nature of LTC work, the value of caring for older people, and marketisation and outsourcing of services.

Hussein, S. (2017) ‘We don’t do it for the money’…  The scale and reasons of poverty-pay among frontline long term care workers in England. Health and Social Care in the Community. 25(6): 1817-1826.

+ posts

Professor of Health and Social Care Policy, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Shereen Hussein is a Professor of Health and Social Care Policy at the Department of Health Services Research and Policy (HSRP) at the LSHTM. She is a Co-Director of the PRUComm policy research unit. She is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Kent and King’s College London in the UK and the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

Shereen is a demographer with expertise in labour-migration, sociology and economics. Her primary research revolves around ageing, family dynamics, migration and long-term care. Shereen has previously worked with the United Nations, the Population Council, the World Bank, and the League of Arab States. Her current research focuses on ageing demographics, long term care demand and migration within the UK and Europe and the implications on policy and practice.

Shereen has conducted extensive research on population ageing and impact on long term care and health policy and practices in the UK, internationally and in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She has contributed to recent United Nations’ policy response to ageing in the region through collaboration with UN-ESCWA and directly providing expert consultations to several countries in the region including Turkey, Oman and Egypt. Shereen leads many large research projects on ageing and long-term care in the UK and contributes to a large project addressing responses to dementia in developing countries STRiDE. Shereen is the founder and lead of the MENARAH network.